We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Save
Review Highlights
Grand church

this church is located in the city center and has the large grave yard still right beside it, it is... read more

Reviewed 16 December 2018
dermott03
,
St. John's, Canada
A stunning cathedral

We attended the 11 am Sunday service. The building is magnificent but cold as we had expected... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
Barbara A
Read all 125 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around St. John's
from US$68.73
More Info
from US$20.00
More Info
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveller rating
81
37
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
37
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews volunteer guides home baked gothic architecture sunday service free tour personal tour quick visit walking tour great tour organ tours parishioners arches st gargoyles survived beauty
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 125 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018

Interesting church to visit in St John's.
Top marks for volunteer guides there, friendly, informative, happy to talk about the place.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Piotr O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We attended a beautiful wedding at the Cathedral. Old stone church that was warm and inviting with spectacular acoustics and architecture.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank sfinbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

This was located steps away from Gower House and was something I would expect to see in London UK and not in St. John's. There was a great tour provided free of charge,

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank hernyjanes707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

Couldn't get inside because it was locked and there was nobody around that could let me in. Too bad -- I would have loved to see the interior and the stained glass. Anyway, the exterior is absolutely beautiful!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank NHjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The church has an air of mystery about it. The front lawn is the gravesite of thousands of unmarked graves....it's dark and inspiring all at the same time. Wonderful history.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank LornaDooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews