We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I was in St. John's for about a week, visiting with relatives and sight seeing. The hotel is a bit off the beaten path for my liking. Would've been much better to have had a car rental, as this location is a bit far from any attractions, and there's no concierge or shuttle services to things. So, if you're not renting a car, you'll have to taxi it or take the bus, which can take up to 1 hour to get to downtown by bus (which is 15 mins away).

Other than that, I did notice the hotel itself was very quiet, which was really great for us, as we tend to be light sleepers. Beds weren't as comfortable as other Marriott's I've stayed in, and could probably use a rotation, as they were lopsided from people sleeping on one side. Breakfast was decent, lots of selection. A nice start to the day when you don't have to go out and your groggy in the morning. The eggs aren't fresh though, they're the powdered kind. It was also nice to have a light snack provided around 5:00 p.m. when your kids are getting hungry. They put out a plate of cookies and have hot water for tea and coffee. And fresh water with lemons is always available.

Something unusual I did notice was that housekeeping starts really early (before 8 a.m.), and when you get up in the morning and you're leaving your room, they'll ask you when they can clean your room which I found odd. They also left behind a few cleaning cloths after being in the room. So, attention to detail would be something they could improve on.

I would recommend this hotel to other people however, just the distance was a bit much for us without a car. Staff were always helpful and friendly whenever we needed something. We did not use the pool at all, just for lack of time, so I can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ironbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Ironbutterfly,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and our Tripadvisor audience. While we are just 10 minutes from downtown, our location does serve our guests well with our proximity to the airport, the highway, and shopping areas. It would indeed be awesome if the bus system could get you downtown on a quicker route! We really appreciate your feedback regarding the comfort of your room. We do regular rotations of our mattresses, but I will be sure to let the housekeeping department know that we should do an inspection to ensure we haven't missed any. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to St. John's
Sincerely,
Ann Marie R, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the St John's area, great suites with separate sitting area, comfortable beds, decent free hot breakfast and very quiet. Staff were friendly on check in and out and we would definitely stay again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bsuga64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear bsuga64,
Thank you for your 4 star review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Its sounds like you stayed in one of our Studio Suites with the seating area, the extra space really does make for a comfortable stay. Our staff are really the best and we are so proud of our team, I will be sure to share your review with them today. Thank you for choosing Marriott for your stay in St. John's and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Ann Marie R, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Stayed July 17 to July 21. Very clean room, lots of free parking and friendly staff. Before sightseeing St. John's and surrounding area, the complimentary breakfast offered was a great way to start the day. I would return and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DonnaDougG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Good morning DonnaDougG!,

Thank you for your 5-star review! It never gets old to see such positive feedback about our hotel and particularly our staff. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you on your return visit to St. John's.
Cheers!
Ann Marie R, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Myself and my friend stayed at the hotel for three nights. We both came in town for the George Street festival and this hotel was perfect! It was not right downtown but it's only a $15 cab ride home. The front desk staff were very friendly and always greeted us as we entered the building. The rooms were very clean and I can't say enough positive about the beds, they were so comfortable. I never got to sit down for the free breakfast but on my way out one morning I grabbed a cup of coffee, a piece of toast and a banana. It was perfect! Thanks again for such a positive and comfortable experience at your hotel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Marie R, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Good morning Danielle P,
I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Fairfield Inn & Suites for your stay while in St. John's for the George Street Festival. It's a great event for the city and you're right, it's really not that far away. I hope you got to take in Chilliwack on Friday night! It was a fun trip down memory lane with all the old songs! We appreciate your comments and thanks for sharing your experience with our Tripadvisor readers. We hope to see you same time next year!

Cheers,
Ann Marie Reddy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

A nice big room clean modern comfortable. There is a mini fridge and a microwave and 2 tvs in family suite. Pool and water slide kids liked alot. Good buffet breakfast. Lots of choices. Had gluten free bread an cereal which was nice. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Lots of chain restaurants nearby. Good choice with kids if you don't need to be downtown. Although St Johns is so small you can get anywhere in 10 minutes so I doesn't matter unless you wanted to go to George's street and walk home. Well run hotel! Would stay again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank weliketofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairfieldFrontoffice, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear weliketofly,

Thank you for the 5-Star review! It is so wonderful to hear our guests sharing their experience with us and the Tripadvisor community. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed everything about your stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We do have many locations for restaurants, our newest being Fionn MacCool's right beside us. We hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to St. John's. Thanks again!

Warm Regards, Lynn J, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
344 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn St. Johns
#18 of 24 in St. John's
219 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
621 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 24 in St. John's
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 199 Kenmount Rd, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn St. John's)
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in St. John's
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#3 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: €85 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland, gives you confidence that your business or leisure trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. Ideally located between the St. John's Airport and the downtown core, close to business parks, the University, and the province's largest shopping mall, we provide you with just what you need, so travel is easy and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn St. John`s Hotel St. John`s
Travellers Hotel St Johns
Travellers St Johns
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing