We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DUMP”
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Inn
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
new brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“DUMP”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is one of the worst hotels in saint john,filithy stinky hole!!!!!Very outdated,creepy,etc.In horrible area!!!!They have a new website lol dont be fooled!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank canadian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    3
    10
    19
    62
See reviews for
20
33
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Manan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

checked into the hotel after our ferry was out of service for almost 2 days. chose this hotel because it had discounted rates for grand manan residents, and because it had a pool for us to occupy our time. the first room we were booked into was absolutely filthy, so we asked to be moved to another room with a larger bed.....they accomodated us and we moved into another filthy room, but after watching out the window at 2 different men dumpster diving beside our vehicle, that was enough....my spouse went to the front desk to ask for our money back. they said they would have to ask the manager, who did not arrive to deal with our complaint, but rather just told the front desk clerk over the phone "no" we could not have our money returned. we left anyway, 75.00 less in our pocket. they had made a very difficult time for us even more difficult and more of a financial burden. this used to be "the" hotel for many grand manan island residents.....it was a home away from home.....but it seems to be the opinion of a lot of us now, that with the new owners, the standards are just not there anymore.!!!!!!! i will never return, and to anyone who is thinking of booking a room there, dont waste your time......go somewhere else!!!! manager should have dealt with the problem personally, felt bad for the front desk clerks who were very friendly....they were just doing what they were told. BAD BUSINESS CHOICE BY THE MANAGER!!!!!!! we may have lost 75.00 but your buisness will loose much more....word of mouth says a lot.

Room Tip: go to the country inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nancyjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

From the Rooms to the most ignorant housekeepers ever, to the smell and dirt of the place you would be better staying in a hostel.It was the worst room i have ever been in .We will never return and i hope noone else has the misfortune of staying there either.Looks like a converted crack shack.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sorryistayed78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford Station
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The outside door leaked cold air, we had to place the mini fridge, towels and pillows to help stop the air flow.

When we reported the problem, they provided us with a portable heater. Even with the heater running all night it was only 66 by the morning.

Even the girl at the front desk was wearing gloves to keep warm.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve_and_Lise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

If you're traveling with pets don't stay here. They charge $10 per pet per night, but there is almost no place to walk your dogs, no grassy areas, unless you feel safe walking your dogs behind the hotel fence along the railroad tracks, which are not lit at night.

The air conditioner/heater did not work in my room and when I called to get it fixed I was told "we no it's not working but there's nothing we can do about it and we're booked full so we can't move you to a different room".

The rooms were non-smoking but the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke.

When asked if there was breakfast in the morning I was told that the restaurant served breakfast but you had to pay for it. When staying at a hotel that is over $100 per night I kind of expect to get at least a continental breakfast!

When I went to check out I was told that I owed money on my bill. When I explained that I had paid cash, and explained what bills I used and who I paid it to, they tried to call the staff person but couldn't get ahold of him and told me that I still owed the money. I explained it again, they said they'd try to watch the security tape but couldn't find the remote control to access the tape and tried to get me to pay. This was ridiculous, especially after they put me in a room that they knew the heater/air was not working and they refused to take any money off my bill for that.

Overall this hotel appeared old, and run down, with no updates and I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NrthwoodsGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint John hotels
0.4 km away
Chateau Saint John
Chateau Saint John
#1 of 20 in Saint John
561 reviews
1.4 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn - Saint John
1.2 km away
Hilton Saint John
Hilton Saint John
#4 of 20 in Saint John
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
295 reviews
0.9 km away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Saint John
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Property: Colonial Inn
Address: 175 City Rd | P.O. Box 2149, Saint John, New Brunswick E2L 3M9, Canada
Region: Canada > New Brunswick > Saint John
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonial Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Saint John
Colonial Inn Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing