We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 05/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$167
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$125
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$152
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn(Saint John)
US$111
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hillcrest Motel(Saint John)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$87
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cooke's Motel(Saint John)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Admiral's Quay(Saint John)
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
91
16
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
91
16
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshelpful hostsfriendly catbreakfast was deliciousold housewithin easy walking distancelovely homeheritage housedowntown saint johnstained glass windowsa lovely staycomfortable roomsmin driveother guestsb and btwo nightswater frontgreat place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We spent two weeks B&B hopping the Maine Coast and Atlantic Canada, and the absolute best was Mahogany Manor in Saint John, NB. The "Upper" neighborhood is reminiscent of Boston's Back Bay without the pretentiousness, the historic home is exquisite, the accommodations complete, the breakfasts terrific, and the hosts gracious and welcoming.

The City of Saint John gets high marks, too, with a real past (oldest city in CA) and an earthy mix of affluence, working folks and the less fortunate. We really liked it for its CBD, City Market, Market Square, Moosehead Brewery, etc. In addition to the B&B, we had two of our best dinners their, it had great natural features (falls, Irving nature area, Rockwood Park, proximity to Fundy) and a zoo, golf course, arts center & theater company usually found in larger wealthier cities.

We'll go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DEZ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

I spent one night at the Mahogany Manor and came away very impressed. The home is magnificent and Carl and Jim are fantastic hosts. Carl also does massage therapy from a studio in the house. His work is first rate. The house is spotlessly clean and comfortable. There are laundry facilities in the home, as well. Saint John is a terrific place to visit and there's no better B&B than Mahogany Manor.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Convexity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We had a good time with Jim and Carl who served as gracious host. The bed and breakfast is located in a very convenient place in downtown Saint John and is in within easy walking distance of most major eating establishments downtown. The breakfasts were adequate, fresh fruit with either french toast or a quiche. The amounts were rather limited and no meat was served. The rooms were clean but the towels, bath mats, and bedding were showing their age.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjgwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trickey-Crooks, Owner at Mahogany Manor Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Good afternoon,

I just wanted to write to thank you for your recent review of our facility. The comments were thoughtful and will assist us in our continuous quality assurance process to make things better. It is unfortunate that we learned of your concerns only after your departure .

Please feel free to contact us with any additional input that you may have that will assist us improving our guest stay.

Regards,

Carl Trickey
Mahogany Manor
1.800.796.7755

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We were very pleased with the room, the service and the breakfast. No complaints at all. We strongly recommend Mahogany Manor to any of our friends travelling to Saint John.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Mahogany Manor is a charming bed and breakfast, in a convenient location for exploring Saint John. The beds are very comfortable with pillow top mattresses and the bathrooms are newly renovated. The hosts are friendly and helpful, and clearly proud of Saint John. They gave useful recommendations on all aspects of our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthEndTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews