We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
67
66
42
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
66
42
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river staff was friendly and accommodating nature trail st andrews coat of paint tennis courts holiday inn seafood chowder restaurant staff nova scotia overnight stay buffet breakfast pleasant stay coffee maker wedding marc dock
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely property on the river and the grounds are well tended. The resort is very tired inside and out; needs updating. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Pet friendly. Great seafood chowder in the restaurant and Marie, our server, was lovely. Overall, would return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracee N, Director of Sales at Riverside Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your recent review. We are currently upgrading our windows in all guestrooms as well as common areas. As well we are replacing the siding on the exterior of the building. We look forward to having you come back to stay with again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Looks like they are renovating the exterior and hopefully the interior is on the roster as well. Very dated rooms. We just needed a place to crash during our road trip to Halifax and the price was right, so it was fine, but given the location, this place could be a real destination.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank SuzyandPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

I stayed here in early September and had an ok experience. Here are my thoughts:

Pros: Staff was friendly, location is beautiful, price was very reasonable

Cons: Although staff was friendly they weren't very knowledgable, they seemed confused on simple requests and were extremely slow in the restaurant.

Speaking of the restaurant, the food was below average. We had the burger and nachos with a few drinks. The food was really dry and not flavourful. Also it took almost 2 hours by the time we got there and left, extremely slow.

Finally I was there for a corporate retreat and the place was very poorly equipped. I called and asked for some tape and a pot of coffee and the front desk were very confused and hesitant to help. The place is starting to show its age as well, and could use some TLC.

Overall it was an ok experience but I wouldn't really recommend this spot. I would like to give a shout out to Marc, he was very friendly and helpful and seemed like the only employee there who had a clue what was going on.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Azoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Don't expect first class accomodations! This used to be a Holiday Inn and has been sold to individuals who didn't seem to be interested in renovating the place!

BUT HOLD ON! They're actually updating the outside of the hotel!

Rooms are ok, but beds are great!

Pool is ok but spa is not working: the water is hot but there are no "bubbles" and there is a strange smell...well, I didn't catch anything although I used it!

If you want to eat at the place, there is a restaurant I personally didn't try: you're about 10-15 minutes from the city itself, if you don't mind the extra drive!

Besides that, location is great, by the river, and there is a nice patio where you can have a drink...or two!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We decided to go play Golf at Mactaquac Golf Course and stayed at the Riverview Resort & Conference Centre. Although the hotel is not a luxury hotel, we really enjoyed our stay. The service was excellent and the meals we had at the restaurant were exceptional. There were 7 of us that ordered different things and everyone raved about how good the food was. From steak to seafood to poutine. Excellent.

Room Tip: The regular rooms all had a queen size bed and a small living room area and the suite has a little kitchen and large bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews