We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Moby Dick Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 144 Restaurants in White Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We've passed White Rock on Hwy 99 multiple times but never stopped by ... until last night. With no recommendations or research, we drove onto Marine Drive and were underwhelmed by the dining options. It was obvious, though, that Moby Dick's was THE restaurant as it was packed while all the others were nearly empty. Now we know why.

The owners are actively involved with creating a dining experience, with friendly service, great personal touches (e.g., stamping our daughter's wrist with a large whale stamp so that the whale's tail could "move"), and making some absolutely amazing fish and chips!

I almost don't want to post this review to keep others away from our new find. But after 36 years in business, the owners have certainly made a name for themselves!

Will we be back? Repeatedly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewBhamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    136
    42
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely in the Summer”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I love coming here for Fish and Chips! They give you large portions, the fish is fresh and the fries are crispy. Nice location and view, great to people watch. Don't be fooled by the long line up, they are usually waiting for pick up. If you want to sit inside, it is usually a short wait.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Live4it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Although I'm not a local, this is the place to go for fish and chips at white rock beach area.”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I live in surrey, and if I get a hankering for top notch, down at the beach fish and chips then this is the spot. So much other stuff to see in the area while you are down there...a stroll on the beach, some nice little shops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This place is even busy in the winter!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Lighly battered fish and chips. You can see and taste the ling cod unlike other places that have a small peice of fish. They give you an extra fish! Order the 2 peice with fries and get three. The interior has lots of fun whale pictures and props for young children.
A great place for a casual meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotMustardMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips With Hair”
Reviewed 7 May 2011

We have been to Moby Dick before and love the atmosphere and food. Tonight my son and I went for an early Mother's day dinner. All was well until I picked up a french fry and dangling from an 8" hair was more fries, it reminded me of a string of christmas lights. The waitress offered to remake the meal, we just asked for a small fry. If it wasn't for my son, and it being for Mother's day I would have just asked them to take it away. They made us a small fry so we could finish our meal, but I did keep my eyes peeled for hair. I've never seen anything like it. That said, they did not discount the meal, we paid full price and got out of there. What's worse is there was no, sorry, no concern from the management - that was surprrising to me. I woudn't be feeling the same about this place. It was a good value, but that guess that depends on how you feel about long hair in your fries.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TommyHon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 
White Rock, British Columbia
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing