We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, adrenaline” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ziptrek Ecotours

Ziptrek Ecotours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$111.57*
and up
Zipline Adventure in Whistler
Ranked #2 of 54 Tours in Whistler
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A year-round operation, Ziptrek Ecotours is the North American pioneer of zipline tours. We offer an entertaining combination of high-wire adventure and ecological exploration.Soar between Whistler and Blackcomb Mountains on Whistler’s most popular zipline adventure. A total of 10 ziplines are joined by suspension bridges and platforms over 150’ high in the tree canopy. Choose from 2 zipline tours and then fly through the ancient rainforest on the ride of a lifetime!
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun, adrenaline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I whent with mi wife on January 2011 to celebrate our anniversary, whistler was very nice and romantic, we enyoied a lot black comb and whistler mountain, the snow was perfect
We staid on the villa so it was very nice to be able to walk around and have diner every night on the very cool restaurants around

The last day we went to the zip treck tour, we love the fact of zip lining tru the trees full of snow, our guide was very fun and friendly

We like the fact than in every platform there's ecological info

We totally recommend it

Helpful?
1 Thank Kikota444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,126
    122
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great fun but pricey for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We had a morning off from skiing before our journey home. Booked the Eagle tour, took around 2 hrs. Short van ride to the start, some walking though deep snow. The ziplines are all fantastic, great views, not too scary as everyone just clips on and goes, The guides give a good History of the area and chat about wildlife and ecology.
Prices are pretty steep. it would have to be a real treat for a family of 4. Esp. if already splashing out on ski rental and passes for a week.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

This was a great 3 hrs. We went on the Eagle tour which was really great, we had lovely tour guides telling us lots of interesting facts. We felt totally safe and it was an exhilarating experience. We took our 10yr old daughter and she didn't baulk at any time, even on the 2000' line. We were told this wasn't as popular in winter but we thought this would have improved the experience. They had portable heaters at each location but we didn't need them on the day we went. I would highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Freezing Zipline Hostage at Ecological Lecture”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Do not do the winter night-time zip line tour unless you want to feel like a freezing hostage at an ecological lecture. In hindsight not doing night-time ziplining seems obvious, since at night you can't see any of the view, there are barely any twinkling Christmas lights, and it is freezing! I still gave it two stars because in the day-time it may be better. The system uses auto-stopping that causes jarring and injured my husbands plated collarbone. In order to avoid jarring, it would be preferable to allow the participants to slow themselves down like they do on other zip lines. There is a fair amount of walking between the zip lines which I really don't understand since there are enough trees to link them all up together and avoid a 10 minute walk in the freezing dark. The tour guides stopped frequently to lecture us on the benefits of being ecofriendly, which was probably the most annoying feature as we were freezing and just wanted to get it all over with.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Parity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WarrickH, Director of Marketing at Ziptrek Ecotours, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Parity,

First off, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to write your recent review.
I was obviously quite disappointed to see how unimpressed you were with the tour in general, and that the whole experience left you clearly underwhelmed. We haven’t received many reviews this lopsided before, but nonetheless; we truly appreciate your perspective and take the comments to heart.

To touch on a few of the points:

Our winter Twilight Tours (as you experienced) although not brand new, have grown in popularity the last few years (this year especially). They offer a new and unique perspective to those who have perhaps already zipped during the day or individuals who might prefer the thrilling aspects associated with nighttime. That said, we appreciate that it may not be the ideal option for all.

The cold – Based in a Mountain Resort town, we do experience traditional winter weather conditions. Add the element of night, and things can often be brisk up on course. Having said that, we do encourage our guests to dress according to the conditions, and we also provide the service of lending additional items (jackets, boots) in the event they may be ill equipped or might have forgotten something. Given the length of the tours (time) we also recommend that guests outfit themselves as they would for a day skiing on the mountain. We also have heat lamps on course to offer the occasional reprieve from the cold. Even with all these things taken into consideration, we do realize that guests can still get cold. Our guides do their best to gauge “how the group is doing” and try to accommodate where possible (doing eco near heat lamps, keeping things moving). As you may be able to appreciate, this is not always easy to assess, but it sounds like some adjustments, or better awareness could have occurred on your tour, which I will gladly share with our Operations Group.

Eco Component - As our company name implies, we are an Ecotour company and sustainability education is an integral part of our approach. The vast majority have found it extremely positive (as evidenced by other reviews), so I was sorry to hear it came across as a lecture in your instance, but I get the sense you had less of an issue with the content, or approach, only that it kept you from completing the tour in a more expedited manner (ie. to get out of the cold). Like any good company we strive to deliver a consistent and quality product, so we avoid making significant alterations on the go, but we do review our complete approach on a regular basis, and are open to customizing elements where it makes sense.

Braking System – Our patented braking system typically gets rave reviews from other guests who have experienced ziplining in other areas. Without having to self brake, our guest are able to simply “enjoy the ride” and take in the views, plus it offers the ability to have your hands free to snap pictures, or film, if you so wish – without the concern of having to brake at the right moment. Most of our guests thoroughly enjoy this aspect. I am extremely sorry to hear that your husband’s experience was less than ideal.

The Tour Layout – Our courses were designed to have walking elements incorporated into them. This allows guests to gain different perspectives, and get physically closer to certain features. Despite the fact that there are a lot of trees in our course area (which we like), not all of them are perfectly suited to accommodate ziplines, and their associated decks etc. And although a continuous zipline course may be entertaining, our tours were never intended that way, nor are they promoted in that fashion.

In parting – I just wanted to thank-you again for your feedback, and reiterate that I was genuinely discouraged to hear about your experience. I get the impression that a lot of the issues encountered were magnified by the fact you were cold & uncomfortable (my assessment). I am curious if a day-time tour, or mid -summer experience would leave you with the same impression. I would welcome you to come back and give Ziptrek another chance.

Sincerely,
Warrick Hubbard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Our family had the time of ourlifes
We did all 10 lines.
We will return on our trip and have another zip.

Helpful?
1 Thank Queenslanders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ziptrek Ecotours also viewed

Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 
Whistler, British Columbia
Whistler, British Columbia
 

Been to Ziptrek Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing