We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!”
Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.87*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
More Info
US$135.26*
and up
Victoria Grand City Private Tour and Craigdarroch Castle
More Info
US$19.98*
and up
Victoria Audio Tour
Ranked #1 of 184 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012 via mobile

I am not a museum person, but they had a photography exhibit on (which I AM interested in) some decid to check it out. Wow was I surprised. Not only did the photography exhibit blow me away but their other exhibits were amazing also. The natural BC and it's history had incredibly life like sculptures of wildlife. This museum is excellent and definitely worth a visit when in Victoria. It's also got IMAX downstairs which showed some excellent 45 minute wildlife and natural disaster documentaries

Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,004
    1,216
    246
    30
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVED IT”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Hadn't been here since I was a kid. I had forgotten how amazing it is.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank musiqueetcirque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great place to take children”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I took my 4-1/2 year old niece to the museum for her first visit. She loved it!! I've been there off and on since I was a child, so it was great to be able to share the experience with her. Her favourite was the Ice Age Mammoth, but she was interested in all of it. There was lots for her to touch as well as look at, including feeling the ice on the wall of the mammoth exhibit, using a microscope to look at various sea creatures in the seashore exhibit and a chance to pan for gold in the history gallery. The old town was fascinating as well, looking at all of the old-fashioned items on display. At the train station, it looks and sounds like a real train could be passing by outside.

I would definitely recommend this for people with young children! There is no flash photography allowed, but you can take pictures in most of the exhibits, and there are bathrooms throughout the museum as well.

Just a note, if you're a Greater Victoria Public Library card holder, you can check out a museum pass and do it all for free! The waiting list is long, but it's totally worth the wait.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank VicGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Museum never disappoints”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I have been going to this museum since I was a little girl and now with my own children, I am so happy to see them love it as much as I did (do).

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TRVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“RBC Museum”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

great displays, excellent information, especially good to take kids into see all the sections.
I especially love the old town section

Helpful?
Thank decoratordale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing