We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Located a 10 minute walk from downtown Victoria, the Coast Harbourside provides a respite from the full bore tourism that makes the city such a great place for visitors. Located on the water, the hotel borders on a quiet residential area with some excellent and unassuming restaurants scattered nearby.

In season, a short walk to Fishermans' Wharf for Fish & Chips at Barb's floating restaurant is a must. The eclectic mix of commercial and pleasure craft, floating residences and businesses all sharing the dock is fascinating. Follow Dallas road for a longer walk, past the Heliport and cruise ship terminal, and follow the seawall to Holland Point and Beacon Hill Parks.

This is a relatively small hotel with all the appointments one expects in a good business oriented hotel. The restaurant is good but pricey for my government meal allowance! The rooms all have some sort of view except the lowest on the inland side. The staff are unfailingly helpful, and the concierge is quick to offer a ride downtown should the need arise.

A quiet neighborhood, great walking nearby and all the usual amenities make the Coast my favourite hotel in Victoria.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms have fabulous view of the harbour, Upper inland rooms look out across the low rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blackbirdguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,414 - 1,418 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was here with my son for a hockey tournament and we were very comfortable in the room we booked. It was clean and comfortable with a little balcony overlooking the harbour. I watched the seaplanes take off and land, as well as the Nanaimo Clipper set out for it's voyage. The location is central enough to be able to walk to shops and restaurants. The staff at the front desk was very polite and helpful, and the shuttle bus driver was very accommodating to our group. The lounge/restaurant served good food and drinks, but closed down about 10:30, even on the weekends, which seemed a bit early. Also, be aware that parking is an additional 12 dollars per night, which isn't always brought up at check-in. Overall, I would stay here again, and recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teadro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Our latest stay at the Victoria Harbourside was Nov. 12 & 13th. We are frequent visitors to Victoria and have stayed at many different hotels in the downtown area. We have a good sense of what makes a good location in the city core. The Harbourside has a nice location for us as it is easy walking distance to DT, Provincial Parliament Buildings, etc. We also like to run and the hotel is at he edge of the downtown with immediate access to Dallas Rd. (waterfront) and Beacon Hill Park(several blocks down). If you have small children be prepared to stroller them home as it may be a bit of a stretch to ask them to walk the 10 minutes in to the core, be busy all day, then walk home. You definitely do not need a cab, peddy cab, car to get anywhere from here.

The best part about the hotel are it's rates, especially in the off season. It is a relatively comfortable hotel with pricing below market. BUT expect to get what you pay for. The hotel has scene better days. It is not up to 4 star standards of other hotels in the area. (EG Ocean Point Resort) The rooms are clean but the bed is less than comfortable. Bathrooms are an older style with steel tubs and shower curtains.The kind of unit where you need to throw down a no slip mat first. The toilet in ours was barely working. the heat/cool system is a cheap through-wall unit which is a bit noisy. (a la motel style)

The pool area is OK and has an indoor/outdoor pool and an indoor whirlpool. The issue here is with the cheap off season rates comes the teenager teams on the weekend trips. You've been warned. In high season this has never been an issue.

Service is certainly satisfactory. They staff do try their very best. Unfortunately we had to experience small bit of a hiccup. They desk person had written the wrong room number on our key envelope so we ended up at the wrong room. We trudged back downstairs and instead of looking into the matter the gal at the desk immediately reprogrammed the keys to the room number written on the envelope which let us into someone else's occupied room. Embarrassing. No apology was made at the front desk but a different gal quickly looked into things and explained what had gone wrong.

If you are the kind of traveler who likes a good location and a clean, satisfactory experience at a better than market value, then this is your gem. If you value a better quality bed and other niceties then try somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountiantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Excellent hotel, and well positioned. It is about a 15 minute walk to the centre of Victoria. You only need to walk if the hotel courtesy transport is occupied elsewhere! Very handy and pleasant service. The hotel is also positioned overlooking the outer harbour. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

All the staff at the hotel were both helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the outer harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I got an online special rate which made staying here offseason a steal. I was having a professional conference the next day (in the hotel) which made staying there with my husband the night before just perfect. We had a room with almost a view of the harbour (could see it from the balcony). King sized bed, comfortable room.

But the people made the difference! We came off a beach walk in the rain and so were slightly disheveled. The check in staff person greeted us as if we were something special, patiently answered questions, and when I checked out the next day seemed to recognize me and again be very cheerful and engaging. We ate in the Blue Crab Bar and Grill. We had been looking at the posted menus when the bartender came out and "gathered" us to sit down - immediately brought us something to drink and helped us sort out the menu. He was present and talkative when engaged but also let us have our peaceful meal - a very professional and personable server. I usually don't like big hotels because I often feel that they are geared for me, a casual traveler. I take that all back. I will certainly return.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room with a view (and they have one) you'll get it. If you aren't "fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Easygoing-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
0.3 km away
Inn at Laurel Point
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 49 in Victoria
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.8 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#21 of 49 in Victoria
3,848 reviews
0.9 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA

Address: 146 Kingston St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1V4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Victoria
#14 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#14 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: €99 - €217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria has a whole lot to offer. Nestled between Fisherman’s Wharf and the beautiful inner harbour, our new Urban Style Hotel concept at Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA is yours to enjoy. Our Victoria hotel features a spectacular oceanfront location, providing one of the most captivating views in the area – Letting guests soak in the natural beauty and historic splendor of Victoria, right from their hotel accommodations. Our business hotel is situated on Victoria’s lively outer harbour, featuring a full-service 52-slip marina, award winning restaurant and gorgeous event spaces. All hotel guests are welcome to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle service within the downtown core. Many of our well-appointed guest rooms & suites feature breathtaking harbour views. Our rooms come with complimentary wireless Internet and a range of modern amenities. Electric Bidet Seats (TOTO® Washlet), 55” flat screen TVs and traditional welcoming origami cranes, a symbol of hospitality, are standard throughout all. Most offer Juliet or patio-style balconies. These high quality amenities are signature features of APA Hotels in Japan and unique to APA’s Urban Style Hotel concept. You’ll also have access to our fitness center, with whirlpool, sauna and Victoria’s only indoor/outdoor pool overlooking the harbor - not to mention our signature award-winning restaurant, Blue Crab Seafood House, which has been recognized by Frommer’s as the “Best seafood spot in Victoria.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina by APA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Victoria Harbourside Hotel And Marina
Coast Hotel Victoria
Coast Harbourside
Coast Victoria Hotel & Marina By APA Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing