We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,286)
Filter reviews
1,286 results
Traveller rating
646
463
129
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
646
463
129
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking london tube downtown victoria great location johnson street valet service within walking distance best westerns front desk staff central location upgraded to a suite attached restaurant per day few blocks sofa bed tourist attractions government street
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,286 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Great Hotel close to the Save On Foods Memorial Area. Great for concerts!!! Just make sure to leave a little extra time at check out as we had a 20 minute wait for our car to be brought out from the properties parking lot making us late meeting up with our friends.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

The front office crews were pleasant as well as very professional . The room was clean and well stocked with your basic needs-bottled water , coffee although the tap water was great . The hotel is conveniently located within different attractions, especially when we didn’t rent a car . The sheets and pillow were clean and seemed newer .

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElsaM1622, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you, Jess, for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of downtown Victoria. Thank you very much as well for your kind remarks about our staff. We hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We were on a tour of Canadian Rockies, & stayed here for two nights. The rooms are great, they are like apartments. Well furnished, with comfy beds. Staff are friendly & efficient. It is very clean.
The one thing we loved the most was Ruby's diner which is in the same building & accessed inside the hotel. They serve the most wonderful food @ breakfast & lunch. We ate there both days. The staff are amazing, so friendly & very good at what they do. The food is well cooked & plentiful. The plus side is they play vinyl music all the time. They have so many albums on the shelves its a vinyl paradise. The player is set up in its own alcove & can be seen playing. What a wonderful change to the loud thump thump music played a lot these. We loved the hotel, but fell in love with Ruby's.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y3268CHFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElsaM1622, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback! We're happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and thank you very much for your kind words towards our staff members.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed The Ruby so much! They are definitely a unique and well-run establishment, and a true gem for locals and tourists alike. We are lucky to have them at our location. We hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018

Victoria Downtown A great location for walking to all of the downtown sites, stores and events. I went to a fabulous movie centre, there are excellent restaurants within just a few blocksI'll definitely consider staying here again

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Hal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElsaM1622, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you Hal for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful downtown Victoria! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018

Although a dated hotel it has all the facilities that you would need. Good service, friendly staff and rooms are adequate. My room was above Johnson Street which was quite noisy but thankfully did quieten down by 10pm

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Trevor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElsaM1622, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you Trevor for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for your kind words towards our staff members. We are currently in the midst of fully renovating all of our guest rooms, and we hope you will come back and stay with us again to see the final results!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews