We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value For Great Entertainment”

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.70*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 20 Fun & Games in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Value For Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We love to go to the IMAX. We have season passes and we never miss a show. We just saw the Film Festival and all six shows were great. We always made a day of it see all the new shows and have the great tasting popcorn. The staff is so friendly they make you feel welcome from the time you buy your ticket until they say good night when you leave after the last show of the day. The feature movies they have are so great to see on the big screen. It is a great way to spend the day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    238
    57
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“huge movies.. how can you go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

batman begins here was unforgettable! regular shows are great as well!

Helpful?
Thank splintercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

You may be interested to know (if you didn't already) that we're opening the 70mm film version of Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol on Friday, March 9.

This version will include 30 minutes of (full 60' x 85' screen) sequences shot with IMAX cameras transforming the high energy action into a unique cinema spectacle. See the film in a way that Academy Award ®-winning director, Brad Bird intended it.

Also, as an added bonus and getting back to your Batman Begins comment, this version will also include a breath-taking full screen 6-minute prologue for The Dark Knight Rises opening this summer. This 70mm trailer playing before MI4 has only been released into film-based IMAX theatres and has never publicly been shown on Vancouver Island. Enjoy!
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tornado film good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really enjoyed seeing a movie on giant screen, was worth the $!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kittiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A good addition to touring the museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This IMAX is situated in the Royal BC Museum (separate or combined admission prices) and provides a good range of films showing concurrently (check online for details). In addition to the films, this is a good option to rest your tired feet!

Helpful?
Thank JWD1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its the IMAX!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Big screen and sound, should I say more? I guess I have to, I like it they show movies educational and just for fun.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ashley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Central Saanich, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing