We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairmont Empress
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for one night last July. We took the Victoria Clipper up from Seattle and walked from the dock to the hotel. We had an amazing room. Very different then any others I have seen, on the top floor had a small dorm window that over looked the parliament building and the natural history museum. We loved the character and history of this hotel and to this days remains as one of my favorites. I love the close proximity to everything and the free usage of their bicycles. I would recommend this property to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,843
    879
    428
    197
    102
See reviews for
773
1,477
122
545
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (921)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I usually end up going to Victoria when its nice and sunny...
This time my short two day stay it was pouring rain.

Its incredibly convenient to have unlimited access to umbrellas and car service (if you want to pay some extra) for those rainy days.

This property is EXCELLENT location to great restaurants, bars, shopping, museums and theaters.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a harbor view, its gorgeous at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missxanthropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest from Calgary,
Thank you so much for your review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and found the amenities convenient during the rainy days. We look forward to welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Victoria.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrville, TX
Level Contributor
97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have a thing for older, but up to date, hotels. This is like a crown jewel of hotels. We stayed for four days for the Tea Festival and would return again any time. We opted for a larger Deluxe room on the harbor side. The sitting area was worth every penny. Plenty of room to relax and spread stuff out. The entire building is an architectural masterpiece. We dined in the Empress Room and had the famous Afternoon Tea on Sunday. It's a bit expensive, but it's kind of a bucket list thing if you're into tea. There is plenty to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. Lots of shopping and dining within minutes. The hotel even did currency exchange for us. (Note: it's a $60 cab ride from the airport to the hotel). There is an excellent book on the history of the hotel, the first hundred years anyway, that tells a great story of this historic gem. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The view of the harbor is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasLavenderLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

TV barely worked- analog only with unclear pictures. Neighbor took a shower at 6 am and we could hear through the walls so that woke us up - not what we would hope for on a Sunday morning. Building has historic appeal so that part was interesting. We got a $129 rate for the winter - check out Tourism Victoria website for the special. Parking an additional $30.

Room Tip: harbour facing would be best - or facing Parliament Bldgs which are lite up at night and pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen B, Executive Office at The Fairmont Empress, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest from Qualicum Beach,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! I am so sorry to hear that your stay was not as restful as you would have liked. Similar to most hotels, we don’t have HDTV given the logistics of the wiring and boxes required. As you experienced we do have flat screen televisions to make the viewing experience as enjoyable as possible. We hope that you will come join us again when your travels bring you down to Victoria.

Colleen Bezeau
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed here for the weekend with my husband and it was a pretty good hotel, the hotel grounds are pretty nice. Our room was small but very nice, it was clean and looked well maintained. I probably wouldn't stay here again as there are many other hotels in Victoria that are nicer and in less of a tourist area. It was fun to stay here once and experience it. They do have a nice tea time, but make sure you bring appropriate clothing as there is a dress code.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malorydeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
975 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
2,509 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
1,948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Empress

Property: The Fairmont Empress
Address: 721 Government Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1W5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Victoria
#8 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#9 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#13 Business Hotel in Victoria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#17 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Empress 4*
Number of rooms: 477
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Empress sits majestically at the cornerstone of Victoria's sparkling Inner Harbour. This landmark hotel features turn of the century architecture, classic beauty and an unrivaled location on the water. It features the highly acclaimed Willow Stream Spa regarded as one of the best spas in Canada. Food lovers can sample the English ritual of Afternoon Tea, savour the famous curry buffet in The Bengal Lounge or sample award-winning food and wine in The Empress Room. The Fairmont Empress offers wireless internet access in all guestrooms, and it is complimentary for our Fairmont President's Club members, free to join. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Empress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Hotel Empress
Empress Hotel Victoria
Fairmont Victoria
Victoria Fairmont
Fairmont Empress Hotel
The Fairmont Empress Victoria, Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing