We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI Victoria Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HI Victoria Hostel
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed in an 8 bed dorm, but we were the oly ones it there. The room was large with big solid beds, but it needed a bit of work doing. There was nothing wrong with the room and the bathroom was cleaned hard every day.

The kitchen was large and well stocked and the free WI-Fi is always a bonus. The whole hostel just needed a bit of an updating (which it said, it WAS getting). The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davadking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    31
    34
    20
    12
See reviews for
4
10
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights in September of 2009.

Friendly and helpful staff, nice hostel in a heritage building.

Was a bit noisy compared to other hostels I've stayed at, but was bearable nonetheless.

I did not use the kitchen so I cannot say anything about it, but I ate a couple meals in the kitchen area and from what I could see, everything seemed clean.

Very conveniently located close to pretty much everything you'll want to see in Victoria, but then again Victoria downtown is pretty small so no matter where you stay you'll be close to most things.

Located about 1 km from the bus station, so very convenient if you are going to Victoria on a bus like I did.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

Overpriced for a depressing private room for myself and two children. (aprox. $75.00)
If you are desperate, this might be an okay place.
Close to downtown.
This hostel needs some better energy....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelnlevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

bristol, england
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

This hostel is in a fantastic location but the whole place needs a huge revamp.
The hostel is very old and dirty which wasn't very nice. Also the whole place stank of urine... i don't know if there was a plumbing problem but the smell was very unpleasant.
If i went back to Victoria again i would look for a different hostel as this place is not good value for the price you pay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

The HI is terrible. From the outside it seems dainty and old style but you get inside and its run down and old. The dorm beds are attrocious and considerinf this is one of the more expensive hostels in victoria it is definately not value for money. The only reason one would stay here would be location but there are just too many draw backs to make it worth your while.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swizzlerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
0.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,427 reviews
0.7 km away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.4 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI Victoria Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI Victoria Hostel

Property: HI Victoria Hostel
Address: 516 Yates St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1K8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Downtown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI Victoria Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HI Victoria Hostel Canada - Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing