We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ethnic food”

Jambo Grill & Paan House
Ranked #468 of 4,154 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: US$9 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Outline
Description: Welcome to Jambo Grill. "Jambo” is Swahili, East African word, meaning hello. “Paan” is a betal leaf wraped with sweets & nuts. The dishes at Jambo Grill are Khoja style cooking, which is quite different from other Indian style dishes. Khoja’s, followers of the Ismaili Branch of Shia sect of Islam, our forefathers in India, were converted to Islam by the Dais from Iran. Thus, there is a strong Persian & Gujarati influence evident in our cooking. The Tandoor, a deep clay oven is one of the key elements in cooking these dishes, like Chicken Tikka, Kebabs & Naan bread whick cooks on the walls of the tandoor. Around the 1920s, the Khoja’s settled in large numbers in East Africa before immigrating to Canada in the 1970s. Certain African style dishes such as Cassava & Tilapia Fish are influences from that continent. Also cooking on the Grill (Sigdi) was very common in East Africa. Dishes like Mishkaki & Kuku Choma are prepared in this manner. At Jambo Grill we present you with the tastes of four continents, Iran, India, Africa, & Canada which we now call home. Our ingredients, tastes, & style of cooking are influenced by each of these unique places.Our Symbol Shaped like a betal leaf & the flame of a tandoor oven, on top of our naan bread, with paan leafs falling into a jar of sweet syrup.Voted Vancouver's Best East African and Indian Cuisine & Restaurant in Vancouver.
Reviewed 5 October 2017

My wife and I both ordered the thalli plates which were good, but one of the dishes was very watery and flavorless. The meat dishes were really good.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KerryLDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Visited this East African restaurant with
Family. Owner is friendly and accommodating. Food is okay.
Service was good
Would recommend
Dishes are authentic East African
Recommend

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank gav7290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Love this restaurant. I first came here with some family friends, and loved it so much that I've been back a few times with my family. They're very friendly, and the food is great. Lamb lollipops, classic mogo (cassava chips, kind of like fries), and pretty much any of the meat dishes are so tasty. Eat here!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raspberrysmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This may be the best East African Indian food experience in town. Well, that is what the locals believe and there were a lot of families there to praise its credentials. Because we could not get beyond the appetizers and a delicious Kenyan beer, our first review will be limited. Although our interest was piqued and we will return to try the main courses. However, if loyalty and enthusiastic praise of diners are proxy measures for excellence then so be it. Now of particular note; if you are a nostalgic for East African dinning experience, then this is the destination.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lloyd b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

Yum-ers!! Love this place. When we are craving comfort food, we come here. E order the usual suspects: samosas, Mogo classic style, ribs no bone, chicken biryani, goat curry, butter chicken. And naan. And it's 'naan' not naan bread. We discovered something new today too, Masai iced tea. It's so so delish!! And refreshing! And then we always order paan. If you don't know what that is, you probably won't like it. If you're not South Asian and want to live life on the edge ask for sweet paan after your meal. It's quite yummy just an acquired taste.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank globalfoodiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambo Grill & Paan House also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Jambo Grill & Paan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing