We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
195
467
198
58
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
467
198
58
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubentertainment districtgranville streetgreat locationjacuzzi tubfirst floorhomeless peoplewithin walking distancefree breakfasttim hortonsstreet noiselight sleeperwould stay here againfront desk staffthe hotel is cleantwo double bedsstayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

We were so surprised at the high price of this hotel! It is very old and in a more dirty part of downtown. When we arrived the elevator was out of order! The breakfast buffet was included in our reservation, but it is not worth the price if it’s not. Not many choices and the fruit was brown both mornings. The Street noise was very loud from our room.
The cleaning products were so strong that we asked for the room to not be cleaned on our second night and we developed allergy reactions.
The one redeeming factor was the wonderful staff! They did carry our luggage up 4 floors and had lots of great info on what to do and where to get things we needed.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank travelingfamof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Front Desk... k, Front Desk Supervisor at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good morning,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we will be using the information provided to ensure we offer exceptional service to our future guests. We will be undergoing renovations this fall and your feedback is very helpful.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

My first room was a REALLY smelly room next to a loud venting machine (a strong chemical smell disguising what?..) and next to the stairs, with the elevator being broken, so a lot of loud foot traffic and people lugging suitcases up and down at any hour of day or night. There is NO sound insulation whatsoever -- you can hear everything on your floor, as well as above and below. The second day the management moved me to a higher floor. The new room was still smelly but at least it was less than the first room.

The bathrooms lack basics like a soap dish or a cup for toothbrush. There is no hook above/next to the sink to hang a towel. (Just a rack above the bathtub.)

The hotel is located in a horrible neighborhood, with lots of drunks and drug addicts. (And a strip club around the corner.) And both rooms were overlooking a homeless shelter. (I was told it’s a hostel and they are all like this in Vancouver.)

The “delux” breakfast is really basic: scrambled eggs, some pork sausage and bacon, hash browns, coffee, etc. For fruit, they serve sliced apples and halved bananas – how stingy! I mean, really you can’t serve whole bananas?... One kind of toast and one kind of some sort of a coffee cake. No gluten free options. (A good café across the street is completely GF.) And the costs for this "delux"? -- $10 plus taxes and service fees, so about $12.65 in total.

And the room -- $400/night? Come on! What a rip-off. I’m glad I was there on business; and I only staid there because the whole city was sold out. As much as it sucked, at least I was not paying for it out of my own pocket. Can’t even imagine spending any part of a vacation there.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Front Desk... k, Front Desk Supervisor at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we will be using the information provided to ensure we offer exceptional service to our future guests.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

They charge more than NYC prices....not in the best neighborhood....people were really friendly though....the elevator was out so they picked up the bags....four flights to climb was a bit much! Not sure I would stay again but for one night it was....just okay!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Front Desk... k, Front Desk Supervisor at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I would like to sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. Your feedback is important to us and we will be using the information provided to ensure we offer exceptional service to our future guests.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We were going to be in Vancouver a few days before leaving on a cruise. We got what we thought was a pretty good price on a discount website. When we checked in, we found that A) the price didn't include breakfast, and B) we wouldn't be getting Choice Hotel points. The desk clerk said if we had called they would have matched the price as long as they can see it on the internet, and they would have included breakfast and points. Breakfast is a buffet served in the "pub" next door, and is fairly reasonable, but free would have been better! We did get a voucher for a free drink (beer or wine) for each night which was nice. Plenty of shopping and restaurants on Granville, which is only a half block away. It's only a few short blocks to the Cruise Terminal, probably too far to walk if you have a lot of luggage, but otherwise reasonable. Just outside the cruise terminal is the Visitor Center where you can get tickets to local attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Front Desk... k, Front Desk Supervisor at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your stay at our hotel.
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Our central location allows downtown Vancouver to be easily accessible and walkable.
We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Vancouver.
Sincerely,
Tara (Front Desk Supervisor)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

We had an AirBnB cancel on us at the last minute just before our trip to Canada which meant we had to quickly find a hotel in the city. We settled on the Comfort Inn because it was one of the least expensive (but still pretty costly) options in the Downtown area.

We were actually pleasantly surprised with our room and the hotel. Our room was big and clean with a big bathroom and plenty of storage. The hotel staff were all very friendly and breakfasts served in the pub next door were good too.

Location was great and we walked everywhere, not needing to use public transport once. Yes we saw the odd homeless person but we were in the heart of downtown Vancouver so this isn't that surprising.....we were never out very late and never once felt even slightly intimidated.

We feel the Comfort Inn delivers a good service and is a good option if your budget does not stretch to one of the bigger hotel chains.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank ljc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara-Front Desk... k, Front Desk Supervisor at Comfort Inn Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Good morning,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean rooms and deluxe breakfast buffet! Or staff goes above and beyond to make sure that your stay is as pleasant as possible. We are so happy that you enjoyed our beautiful city as well as nearby attractions. Our central location makes it very easy to access most locations by foot or public transit.

We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Vancouver!
Sincerely,
Tara (Front Desk Supervisor).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews