We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, service, location... super friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #31 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, service, location... super friendly staff.”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

A great Fairmont hotel with fantastic location. I had a very good two night stay here and despite it being a huge hotel, the staff made me feel right at home. Excellent advice from the concierge for restaurants and errands etc... Even housekeeping was incredibly friendly (staff to guest ratio seemed really good too). The room was of good size - typical Canadian Fairmont style. It's a bit old fashioned but with lots of character.

The hotel seemed to be very busy too which gave it a nice buzz. The restaurant\bar always seemed to have lots of people having drinks and tea.

Everything you need is within walking distance too - shopping, food....

I will stay here again. Enjoy Vancouver!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,524
    860
    295
    122
    84
See reviews for
572
915
149
898
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a great property with a fantastic location. Let me first rant about being nickel and dimed. $6 for 5 minutes in the business center to check in the airport. Really?? $15 for 24 hours of wireless in the room. Come on....that's free at the Holiday Inn for gods sake. $16 to rent a movie in your room. And $80 for breakfast buffet for 2. It's just eggs, people.....very good eggs, but they're not golden eggs. I understand it's a pricey city and the hotel is located in the two most swishy blocks in downtown, but it's a bit much.

Now, having ranted, the hotel is quite good. The lobby bar is fun and lively with good apps. Excellent restaurants within blocks, and the art museum right across the street (with a great, affordable cafe that is popular at lunch with locals - no admission fee required). The City Center stop on the Skytrain is only two blocks away, and it's only about 5 blocks away from the Waterfront.

Room was fine - 7th floor. Nothing special - I thought the king beds were shorter and narrower than in the US - but housekeeping and room service were both speedy. Conference facility was well done.

I'd stay here again but would be prepared to pay for every little thing. sheesh.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanderson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelVan, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am delighted that you chose to stay at our iconic property on your recent visit to the Pacific Northwest. I realise that this is a little late to communicate to you but there is an option in the business center to check in online for free, my apologies that this was not made clear. I would also encourage you to join our complimentary Fairmont Presidents Club Program which as an opening benefit, offers free internet access. Your comments are taken on board and we include your feedback when we look for areas of improvement within the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our “Castle in the heart of the city” in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andre Zotoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location, of course it is the Fairmont so you pay more for what you get. Personally I find the Fairmont hotel to have that old-school, "dated" feeling to it, and I would much rather spend that kind of money on a more modern hotel. However, all in all, the Fairmont is one of a kind and an absolutely beautiful place.

Room Tip: The breakfast is very expensive! We paid over $100 for three people who ate basic breakfast with cof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_junkie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
243 reviews
240 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Had the opportunity to be in Vancouver recently and stay at one of the classic "castle" hotels of Canada. The Fairmont has had a significant renovation to give you all the creature comforts you would expect from the 5-star chain but the hotel retains a lot of the early 20th century charms both in the common areas as well as in the rooms.

I had a standard room on a lower floor but still a bit of a view of Robson Square next door. The hotel is right in the heart of downtown Vancouver close to everything.

I also had a chance to use the workout room which has lots of cardio machines as well as some weights - plenty of machines too for the busy morning rush!

I also ate breakfast in the Griffins restaurant which was quite good!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Helpful and gracious concierge, people immediately answer the phone and bring what you need (more hangers, a second fridge). Belonging to their President's Club actually means something - free internet and free bike rentals. Spacious rooms, quirky elevators, perfectly set up meeting rooms, helpful staff all around. Great place for a conference. Comfy beds, chairs, desks, big closets and bathrooms. Great neighborhood for lots of different restaurants and coffee bars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindapNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
3,101 reviews
West End
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
1,421 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#22 of 89 in Vancouver
3,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vancouver

Property: Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Address: 900 West Georgia Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#30 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 556
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Hotel Vancouver is centrally located, close to Robson street shopping and many cultural offerings. The lobby features designer shops, including the flagship Louis Vuitton boutique, Gucci, Omega, and St. John. The hotel has a state-of-the-art health club, indoor pool and Absolute Spa. Vancouver's landmark hotel, the castle in the heart of the city is rich in history, vibrant and cosmopolitan. Please note that the pool is closed for maintenance until June 30, 2017. Guests will be provided nearby alternative options including indoor and outdoor heated pools. Fairmont Hotel Vancouver will continue its guest room renovation project until July, 2017. Floors under renovation will be closed with no guest access and construction is limited to 09:30am to 5:30pm, minimizing any impact to guests staying with us. We look forward to unveiling these exciting updates in July 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vancouver
Vancouver Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing