We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring back the mushroom spaghetti”

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Oakwood Canadian Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 4,153 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Outline
Cross street: MacDonald
Transit: Bus stops within a block
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

We live in the neighbourhood and have enjoyed the Oakwood Bistro many times. However, we are disappointed that the new menu has so few meatless options, and that the fantastic, signature spaghetti with mushrooms (pickled and otherwise) is gone. We hope the next menu will have more options, and will happily return if it does.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

We happened on this restaurant as the pub across the street would not allow us to dine with our 15yo son. Lucky us! We were warmly welcomed and seated at the community table. Our waitress was lovely she explained the menus and the favourites we might want to consider and helped us choose some local beer. We did not go wrong on our selections - the tartare was so flavourful; the kale salad was as good as promoted even the non-kale eaters at the table enjoyed it!; the poutine was good (not a star) and the shrimp and grits were as good if not better than my mother-in-laws! The wine chosen was really good as were the chocolate peanut butter bars for dessert. Really a lovely evening - though the menu might have been challenging for our vegetarian daughter...

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HikerMom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

Can't say enough good things about our experience at The Oakwood. Special kudos to our server, Rachel. The food was delicious and quite original - try the charred shishito peppers and the burrata, bacon jam. Reasonably priced smaller dishes that we could share. Rachel's recommendations were perfect. My wife, adult son and I were visiting the Pacific Northwest for one week and The Oakwood was, hands-down, our favorite restaurant. Save room for the vegan cashew cheesecake!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Frank Dixon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

Alyssa was our server and she was phenomenal. Very knowledgeable and incredible friendly. The menu items are small but totally worth it. So tasty! Will come back to celebrate again!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Lucas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Dined at The Oakwood Bistro on the recommendation of friends and was decidedly not disappointed to say the least. Albeit, the room and environment are on the casual side of the equation not necessarily correlating with the gastronomy, but nonetheless providing a fun and energetic setting. The cuisine on the other hand was simply phenomenal equitable in both taste and presentation to some of the finest dining establishments in the world. The servicing too is very good, but categorically and sadly not in the league of the fare.

With that said, all of the dishes sampled were simply exceptional and extraordinary being discriminately high in quality and scrumptiousness, although on the small portion serving size of the equation given the pricing. Noteworthy of special mention were both the fried chicken skins as well as the superb pan-seared duck breast.

This establishment is definitely worthy of many a return visit simply for their remarkable and unique food!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dalecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Oakwood Canadian Bistro also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Oakwood Canadian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing