We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking Situation was Ridiculous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Reviewed 5 November 2017

There is no parking at the Hotel itself, but is offered at a garage two blocks away. I bought through the hotel one day parking good until 6 pm, but I needed to buy an additional two hours due to a reception I would be at. There was no way to do that through the hotel, and then I found that there was no way to do it at the parking garage either, as they told me I would have to drive my car out of the garage and drive back in to get a new ticket. I couldn't do that do to timing. I was told that my prepurchased day of parking would expire at 6 pm and I would not be able to leave the garage or pay for the additional time at the time of departure. After talking to the garage and hotel staff for what seemed like a silly amount of time, I gave up and simply bought a second day of parking through the hotel for $25. As it turned out, when I left the garage at 6:45, the attendant told me my first day prepaid was still good and "I could keep the other ticket for the next day" I of course wans't there the next day. So I paid $25 unnecessarily for 45 minutes of parking. It was all a very frustrating experience.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank segojackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review segojackson,

I am sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our parking arrangements, if the hotel managed it's own parking we would have been more than capable of extending your parking until 8pm. Unfortunately, as a 100 year hotel we have limited options in terms of parking, our arrangements with this lot include a 7 hour window post check out in which the parking passes remain valid. It is written into our contract that guests must exit by 6pm, the fact that their parking attendant allowed you to exit after 6pm goes against our agreement with the management company of this lot and I would not expect it to be the precedent. Our staff responded to your request in accordance with our agreement and that is all I can ask them to do, we prepay for parking tickets each month and there is no way for us to offer an extension beyond 6pm ourselves. Once again, I am sorry that you were not pleased with our arrangements, and we hope that you will continue to use Days Inn for your accommodation needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
General Manager
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

Clean and courteous and very conveniently located for all kinds of downtown activities. The hot water never really got hot enough, but we managed. The breakfast room downstairs was good...excellent service and an adequate menu.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Richard P for taking the time to provide your review, I am happy to hear that your stay was for the most part an enjoyable one. I am sorry to hear there were issues with the hot water in your room,I would be happy to have our Maintenance team look further into this if you would forward me some details of your stay with us.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
General Manager
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank tartemis96
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dave S, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 October 2017

There is no parking at this hotel. You have to drive 2 blocks to their shared parking facility. I had to park on the street to check in and hope that my car wouldn't get hit. There is only breakfast served, no restaurant. Next door is a sports bar where you can get food to go.
2:30 AM there were people partying outside and it was obvious they were high. This went on for over an hour. Then the garbage truck arrived around 4:00 AM and picked up garbage with the crusher going. Just after that, an alarm started going off. After listening to that for an hour I finally called downstairs to be informed that someone was stuck in the elevator. The staff said they were going to go let the fellow know they were taking care of it. REALLY, you didn't go and soothe him when he first got stuck and started pushing the alarm bell? The reason they get any rating at all is that they didn't charge me for the room when I checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebaBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave S, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you RebaBritishColumbia for your review,

I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant visit with us at our hotel, parking is offsite and our website and all other websites list it as such, we are always transparent about this fact with our guests both in person and online as you can see from our many reviews regarding parking, as a Century old building (and like all other buildings of this vintage) we cannot change this fact and have negotiated a deal with what we feel is the most secure and convenient parking lot in the neighborhood. All of our guests whom travel with a vehicle park on the street just as you have, the hotel has a passenger zone available for most of the day and getting hit is simply not a worry (the hotel has been operating this way for decades and have never had such an incident). On the weekends for the time being we do offer a complimentary continental breakfast, we do hope to resume full service breakfast again in the near future. As for the noise, we are a downtown hotel, we cannot control what occurs outside of the walls of the hotel, our waste removal company does not pick up at 4 am though I will look into this with them and ensure that they do not schedule early pick ups. As for the elevator issue, it was an unfortunate incident, I had attended the hotel with in 35 minutes of being notified that morning and by the time I arrived the elevator technician was on site, from my understanding the guest had been talked to and was told that the call was placed and assistance was on the way, however they continued to press the alarm button in fear. We were able to get the guest out as quick as possible unharmed and we did our best in attending to the guest whom was entrapped, I am sorry that this incident effected you as well. Once again thank you for your review and we hope that you will continue to use Days Inn for your accommodation needs in the future.

Sincerely,

Dave Stevens
General Manager
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank rogerpI3850XQ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dave S, General Manager at Days Inn Vancouver Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Downtown
Kingston Hotel
Kingston Hotel
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
428 reviews
Granville Street
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#51 of 92 in Vancouver
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
944 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#38 of 92 in Vancouver
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Vancouver Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Vancouver Downtown

Address: 921 W. Pender Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 1M2, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Price Range: €75 - €235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn Vancouver Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable comfort steps away from Vancouver's stunning Waterfront, the Olympic Torch, Vancouver Convention Centre, Cruise Ship Terminal, American Consulate, Gastown, Railtown, Chinatown, shopping and restaurants. Canada Line (train that connects the airport to downtown)is 3 blocks away. Stanley Park, one of the top urban parks in the world is not far. Free WiFi in all the property and a spacious Business Center on the second floor. Non Smoking Hotel. Keurig coffee/tea in rooms as well as umbrellas, irons and ironing boards. The Chelsea Restaurant opens for breakfast from 7:00 am to 10:30 am and The Butcher & Bullock Pub, from the Donnelly Group, opens from 11 am to 2 am. Come enjoy warm hospitality in a clean, cozy room and explore everything our spectacular City has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Vancouver Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Vancouver Downtown Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing