We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,464)
Filter reviews
2,464 results
Traveller rating
1,561
631
173
60
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,561
631
173
60
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews false creek dockside restaurant public market great location art galleries water view the penthouse boutique hotel front desk staff easy access downtown vancouver wonderful hotel stanley park aquabus granville taxis proximity
Filter
Updating list...
1,024 - 1,029 of 2,464 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We have stayed @ this hotel on several occasions. The location is fantastic for shopping on Granville Island and up the street on the many Art Galleries beginning @ the foot of the Granville Island bridge. This past visit it was a special occasion so we decided to splurge and upgrade to a larger city view suite. Obviously not all of the more expensive rooms have the same view. Our view looking East was partially blocked by a wall ; so the view was not that great. Also we had presumed there would be a bathtub, but were disappointed to find a shower only. We asked to be moved to a room with a tub, but the hotel was full so we had to make do. The room decor was dated, and the paint needed to be refreshed. I noticed that the light switches and plugs had not been cleaned in a long time. Over-all I felt that the room upgrade was definitely not worth the extra money. On a bright note the front desk staff was very professional and courteous, and we had an amazing meal at the restaurant ! We love the sights and sounds of Granville Island and will return to this hotel; but next time we will just stay in a regular priced room.

Room Tip: Just get a regular priced room; but ask for one with a view. Also if a bathtub is important be sure to request on your booking reservation.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prime_Sandy_Beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Hotel Manager at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Colin_M_Walsh,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I am very pleased that you did enjoy the staff and hotel location but I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your room. Our superior rooms all face the water and have beautiful views the mountain and downtown Vancouver. I am not sure how your view was obstructed unless you were looking away from the water as the rooms have a 100% view. If you are looking for a larger room with a corner view, our Executive Suites offer a wider view of the water. When booking a hotel room, if you prefer a tub over a shower, please let us know. We do try to match the features requested to our guests when assigning rooms. Our rain-showers have become very popular with guests, but we also have guests who prefer tubs! I have added your preference to your profile, so next time, we have notes in the system that you prefer the tub. Again, thank you for your feedback as they are critical for making the hotel better!

Sincerely,

Christine Louden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Hotel is lovely and usually quiet and a nice change from downtown hotels. Parking very reasonable at $12 per night. There was a special event on that evening with very loud music until well past midnight. No warning of such and was not booked in a room far from the action despite having specifically requested a quiet room.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Hotel Manager at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2016

Dear Sonia S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your hotel feedback. I do apologize that you had a noisier evening than your previous stays. While we spoke to you regarding the double buyout in the restaurant and lounge via telephone prior to your stay, I apologize if we were not clear that there would be some music. We tried to pick a room with the best view for you per your request, but the view rooms can be a little louder as they are located over the restaurant / lounge. Per hotel and restaurant policies all events are concluded by midnight. This is a firm rule, so no music is played past the strike of midnight as we want our guests to have a good nights sleep. Again, I do apologize that we were not clearer in informing you about the music. We appreciate your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Christine Louden
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

We stayed overnight after a company event in the restaurant/lounge. The food and service were excellent. The rooms were very nice and clean. Parking was also very reasonable when compared to other hotels in Vancouver. it's always nice to be on the water.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Halogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Helpful staff, clean rooms and quiet. I stay in many hotels for business and this is my favourite. The location has many advantages with the many shops and restaurants nearby, the parking is free if you leave by 9 am and it is an easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 324vickis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We had a two night midwinter stay here, and loved it. There are so many places to eat on the island, or take a short ferry ride over False Creek into downtown. We had a quiet spacious room and were very happy with all the services we used in this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JaneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews