We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vancouver Hotel - Granville Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Granville Island Hotel
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Located East of downtown on Grenville ‘island’, this smallish hotel works fine. Typical room with desk, nice beds, soft-firm pillow, and trendy shower stall (no bathtub in our unit). Rents at $250.00 per night in high season/summer. There is free internet (bonus!), room service until 10pm and in-room minibar. The hotel only has 3 floors with one elevator and it is slow. There is no pool or gym at the Hotel. You have to swipe your card to use the elevator after 10pm and this is a nuisance. Many artist studios, small shop, cafes, and restaurants within 5 minutes add charm. Also a walking/biking path along the harbor with great views out across Vancouver. Had small problem to deal with and received excellent assistance from the kind and pleasant staff. Hotel restaurant (Dockside) served a tasty breakfast with eggs, pancakes, waffle and real maple syrup.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAP-TRAVEL-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gihotel, Director of Sales at Granville Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your hotel stay!

I am very pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay.

Just for clarification, the hotel does have a small gym that is complimentary for guests and open from 7am to 11pm. We are flexible on these hours.

Also, the two pictures attached to this review are not of our hotel.

Thank you.

Christine Louden
Sales and Marketing Manager
Granville Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,873 - 1,877 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Granville Island Hotel as we attended a wedding on the Island. We were able to walk and not worry about transportion etc.
We are sooooo glad that we did.
The staff were awesome. So very helpful and kind.
The room (we were in 326) was large, clean and had a breathtaking view of False Creek Harbor.

Granville Island is a very busy and happening place. Parking is a huge issue. Space is limited. Charge of $16/night even tho we stayed there. :-(


This was a kingsize suite and had a microwave (no fridge tho--not sure why) but there was a stocked fridge that was accessible by key for the overpriced chips and chocolate...theres a vending machine right outside the room for all that too. The fridge also stocked some beer and liquor so that was fine too.

The bed was AMAZING!! The linens were great. My only complaint would be that the pillows were very stiff and not very comfy.

There was adequate amounts of shampoo/conditioner and sundries...there was even an emory board (thank Goodness!) which I needed as I chipped a nail.

Overall...simply loved it.
Would recommend it even tho the price is too high.
Great for a one night treat (that's what we did).
No breakfast included...that would have been nice.
Paying for parking when you are a guest doesn't seem right.
Would go back for a special treat.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Yes the price is extreme for a 3 star. The service is impeccable from the front desk to the maid service and everyone inbetween. Room 316 is a must have, very small but with 2 balconies and a ks bed made it perfect for our stay and will always request the same. We had lunch on the patio and it was delicious. Can't say enough about a great experience. This was our second visit, our first visit being in November with dismal weather but returning to the Granville each night was a welcome retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havetoloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed here for a work related meeting. Good location and nice room albeit small. The a/c didn't work consistentely but they came to fix it when called but seemed to still be hot in our room or freezing. My husbands bike got stolen the first night and something tells me this happens a lot so store your bike at the front desk which they offered to do after it was stolen from right out front and it was locked up. It's a small property and older but has been reno'ed. The bed are comfy and clean and looked new. The shops are ok-over priced and kitchy. Front desk staff is lovely. Restaurant was very nice as well and the food was excellent. close to the Vancouver sea wall walking path and. You must go watch Jozef do his amazing rock stacking (ask the front desk where).

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
Thank ShelleyPohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I travel to Vancouver for business many time a year and treat myself to nice hotels as I own the company. This was my first stay at Granville Island Hotel so I upgraded and booked a room with a balcony. It was by far the smallest room I have ever stayed in, ever!!!!. There was a 1 inch lip leaving the bathroom and I dam near broke my toe in the middle of the night. Bathroom was so small I undressed in the room to use the shower. When leaving the room for check out I saw other standard rooms being made up. They were much bigger. My mistake was booking a balcony room. The location was great but overall way, way over priced for the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 92 in Vancouver
2,602 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,068 reviews
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,859 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
1,673 reviews
West End
Residence Inn by Marriott Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granville Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granville Island Hotel

Address: 1253 Johnston St | Granville Island, Vancouver, British Columbia V6H 3R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Granville Island & Fairview , Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: €134 - €359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Granville Island Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Granville Island Hotel, a boutique hotel, offers a one-of-a kind experience. With welcoming staff to greet, a restaurant and lounge to entice, and a luxurious room to make you feel at home, the Granville Island Hotel is Vancouver’s best kept secret. With endless opportunities to dabble in local art & cuisine at the famous Public Market or to explore Vancouver by bike or kayak, the Granville Island Hotel offers something for everyone. Located just minutes from the village, the Granville Island hotel is the perfect get-a-way spot for couples looking for a quiet alternative to staying downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Granville Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Granville Island
Granville Island Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing