We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostelling International Vancouver Downtown
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Sandman Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$320
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$377
US$342
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$246
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$487
Delta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Best Western Plus Sands(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$323
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn Downtown(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
US$301
US$248
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Waterfront(Vancouver)
US$561
US$530
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
54
143
60
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
143
60
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfastbed dormgames roomtop bunksunset beachlarge lockersdavie villagecoffee and juicegranville islandminute walkrooftop patiocommon areasa lot of noisewould stay here againlocation is greatstayed here for nightsdecent size
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Thought this was a very good hostel, I've stayed in a good few Hi-Hostel's across Canada and the States. Very clean place and friendly staff. The only problem I had with it was the freezing bathroom, when you need to take a shower getting in and out was like walking into a freezer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Great location! In the heart of the West End. Safe warm and cozy. Great staff. Clean rooms clean washrooms. Hit water. Includes breakfast. 24 hour coffee tea and filtered water. All amenities ranging from Internet bike storage library laundry and so on large fully-equipped kitchen lots of organized activities. Fantastic staff. International travellers meeting lots of nice people. This is THE place to stay to experience Vancouver

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verliemccauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed there for about 10 days and we actually really liked it.
The hostel is well located, right near Davie St. which is actually the "gay neigbourhood", it's walking distance from pretty much everything.
The beach is really close-by, as well as many food markets and grocery stores (SuperValu for everything, West Valley Market for fresh fruits and vegetables) and various restaurants. The hostel's kitchen is very big and well equiped.

We stayed in a 4-bed dorm, the rooms are kind of small but it was fine. Very clean and the cleaning staff was very friendly. The bathrooms were also pretty clean.

The front desk staff was fun, very helpful and nice.

The hostel is pretty quiet, and also it's located on a quiet street, so not very noisy. It didn't seem like a party hostel during our stay.

And there is a nice patio with tables in the back.

Overall i'd say this hostel was really nice, calm, and very economic compared to a lot of other hostel in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rharrison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

great breakfast so goodd yummm good spot to rest up before heading off to the snow for the season clean fun place

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My first stay in a hostel and I was surprised at the decency of it. Of course the rooms were tiny and sometimes sharing with 3 others wasn't the most comfortable, but it was liveable. I stayed there for 3 weeks in November which was the slow season, so the hostel was mostly quiet. As a really light sleeper, noise was surprisingly not a big problem for me (unless one of your roommates snored, like one of mine did). Great location, very easy walking distance to Davie St shopping and restaurants and about a 10 min walk to Yaletown skytrain station as well as the shopping district - very easy to get around. The bathrooms were always spotless and the free breakfast was great. Staff were really helpful and on the whole great - except for one guy who clearly doesn't enjoy his job. On the whole, thanks a lot guys - great hostel and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cml80_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews