We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best B & B's we've stayed at”
Review of English Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
English Bay Inn
Ranked #5 of 53 Vancouver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had the pleasure of staying 2 nights here in May and very much enjoyed our stay. Greg the Manager was very attentive to our needs, no problems in making a booking over the phone, and co-ordinating our arrival time with him, the room was spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed, internet was good connection, the complimentary sherry and port was nice in the comfortable loungeroom, Greg was happy to provide us champagne glasses and access to the refrigerator for our bottle of bubbly, breakfasts were excellent and if you can't eat the side muffin Greg is happy to wrap it to go for you. Very helpful with information on what to do, where to eat.

Great location, only a street away from Stanley Park and English Bay, restaurants and shops, watch the sunset down at the beach, it's really nice. Walk into Vancouver around the sea wall, it's a nice walk.

And, they don't charge your credit card until you check out too, so ignore a previous post about this, the lady evidently got mixed up with a place of a similar name on the main road in English Bay!

Will recommend this B & B to friends travelling to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
There are newer reviews for English Bay Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2012

Greg, the manager went above the call of duty for us. The locationwas perfect for us. Just a ten minute cab ride from the train station, 2 blocks from English bay park and the seawall plus a block and a half from Stanley park. Greg's recommendation of dinner at the fish house was spot on.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank RobertaDePiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

After reading several reviews, we chose the English Bay Inn based on its location in the "West End" of Vancouver. It's close to the bay, Stanley Park, and great restaurants.

Our host Greg was very helpful with information about Vancouver, very friendly, and provided a wonderful breakfast each of the two mornings we were there. We were in the two-level room with the fireplace and bedroom on the third floor. The feather bed topped it all of with comfort and quiet. The Inn is on a quiet residential street yet is within blocks of everything. We walked everywhere.

We biked most of the first day and found bike trails clearly marked throughout Stanley Park and on the streets in this part of the city. It is very International and we would highly recommend this area in Vancouver.

If we return to Vancouver, we will make the English Bay Inn a regular visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank underthesun99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The English Bay Inn has everything we look for: it's small,
comfortable, the owner is friendly, welcoming and helpful,
and the location is perfect. It's a lovely old house in a nice, safe
neighborhood that's just a 2 minute walk from Stanley Park
and English Bay. There are lots of great restaurants
within short walking distance. Off-street parking was also
a big plus.

Breakfasts were delicious, and more like good restaurant
breakfasts than the sort of weird, sugary stuff you find at
some B&Bs in the US.

The English Bay Inn is comfortable and nicely decorated
but the bedrooms are not especially large, if that is
important to you. I'd rate the physical condition of the
bedrooms (paint, etc.) as only 3.5 or 4 out of 5, but
everything works well and is very clean.

Please note that the English Bay Inn does *not* require
advance payment, as stated by Rachel S. in a 1-star
review. We asked the owner about this when booking --
unfortunately Rachel got confused between the English
Bay Inn and some other establishment in English Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanSBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I reserved a room for March 31 thru booking.com. I was not told that the room must be paid in advance or it would be sold out from under me. I received email conformation and then was unable to check my email for two days when I discovered my reservation was cancelled after English Bay attempted to charge my credit card in advance. This is not a professional way to treat customers. Had I known you would take it upon yourself to charge upon reservation I would have given my daughters credit card (who was paying for my birthday trip). I was attracted by the hotel's discount prices but ended up having to pay $60 more for another room. I called the hotel and got no apology. English Bay Inn needs to understand what the word RESERVATION means. It means to hold the room until the day of use. You get the credit card number just in case of no show.

Room Tip: Pay in full in advance
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
Rosellen Suites At Stanley Park
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,070 reviews
West End
Best Western Plus Sands
Best Western Plus Sands
#46 of 92 in Vancouver
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,587 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
2,627 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Bay Inn

Address: 1968 Comox St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 1R4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Vancouver
Price Range: €131 - €241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — English Bay Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The English Bay Inn has been running as a bed & breakfast for more than 20 years. This beautifully maintained home is located just 1 block to English Bay, The Seawall and Stanley Park! Enjoy delicious breakfasts daily for stays in Rooms 1 thru 5, or go it on your own in Room 6, the full apartment with 2 Queen Beds & a full kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your English Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Bay Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing