We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,521)
Filter reviews
1,521 results
Traveller rating
649
597
197
45
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
597
197
45
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult storebest westernsdowntown vancouverentertainment districtking suiteseparate bedroomunderground parkinghomeless peoplestay there againyale townwithin walking distancesofa bedconvenient locationgreat roomfront desk staffvery nice hotelroom was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 1,521 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is very close to the Granville Street Bridge which makes it easier to get in and out of downtown Vancouver. The Yale Hotel with their nightly blues bands is a block away as are Greek restaurants, White Spot, 7-11, Food Market and other places that might be of interest.

The hotel itself is very clean and staff are friendly. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars was because everything is a la carte at this hotel. Expect to pay $20 extra for parking (includes the tax) and breakfast is not included. We couldn't find a swimming pool in the hotel either.

The rooms are laid out exceptionally well for the suite rooms. It would have been nice to have a separate sink (hate using bathroom sinks for anything food or drink related and hauling water up to room is a pain) but there are lots of closets and space for 2 + people in the suite. It was great having a balcony, too.

As we were shut in due to adverse weather for part of the time, it was nice not to have to go down the street for coffee. There is a restaurant attached to the hotel.

Rooms were quiet except for the occasional party in the room above and the noise from the fire alarm for a real evacuation (it definitely works).

One thing that I would recommend to the hotel is to have a list of all patrons and check it off when everyone is in the lobby during an evacuation. Otherwise how would you know if everyone was evacuated from the floors. Some people may be out at the time but the hotel could contact those who were not there by cellphone or the list could be given to the Fire department to check for patrons. It would not have been feasible to send an employee to check floors if fire got out of control.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Snow649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the room along with the balcony.

We are commended for our ideal location in the heart of Vancouver within walking distance to many of the cities’ attractions, shopping, restaurants and public transportation.

Unfortunately, a swimming pool is one of the amenities we do not have listed as part of our hotel, we apologize if there was any mis-communication at the time of booking that made you understand that we do have a pool. We do however have a state of the art fitness centre on the 2nd floor that is freely available for our guests during their stay.

As our hotel is located in downtown Vancouver, we offer a competitive parking rate in comparison to other downtown hotels. Thank you for your feedback.

Thank you for your feedback in regard to the fire evacuation.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you on your next stay.


Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

Great room with the bed facing the windows so you can look out on the city. Clean and very friendly and helpful staff. Close to many attractions downtown. Great balcony to see the city and unwind after a day of exploring.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Allyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Allyn,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the room and the balcony.

We are commended for our ideal location in the heart of Vancouver close to the cities’ attractions, shopping, restaurants and public transportation.

Thank you for your kind words in regard to our team, we will pass on your comments to the team.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.


Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The best part of the hotel is its staff, who make every effort to be helpful and accommodating. The hotel is a bit of a walk to the convention center and Gastown, but very close to Yaletown and generally centrally located in the heart of Vancouver. The room rate increases over the weekend, but it otherwise a very good value.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear John,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our customer service, it is great to hear that our team were able to assist you and deliver our hotel promise, with excellent guest service.

We are commended for our ideal location in the heart of Vancouver within walking distance to many of the cities’ attractions, shopping, restaurants and public transportation.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.


Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Good sized room, comfortable king sized bed with a lovely view of Granville Street and the North Shore mountains. Enjoyed our 1 night stay here and will be back. Staff was efficient checking us in and when I saw that we were a bit close to the elevator, I asked to be moved a little further away (due to my wife being a light sleeper) and they put us down at the other end (nice and quiet). Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views and are quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveBurnaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Dave,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be spacious and that you enjoyed the view.

We are pleased to hear that our team were able to accommodate your room change.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.

Thank you for the recommendation and for choosing our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.


Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

An entirely serviceable, even pleasant, hotel. Good restaurant. Quiet and comfortable. Pleasant and helpful staff. Good, convenient location. No complaints at all. (Although the post-survey form was a bit annoying.)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rossh623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEST WESTERN PL... C, General Manager at Best Western Plus Chateau Granville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Chateau Granville Hotel & Suites & Conference Centre. We are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us.

Thank you for your positive feedback in regard to our restaurant, the Edge Social Grille & Lounge, we will pass on your feedback to the chef and his team.

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us about your experience.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next stay.


Best regards,
Anastasios Theodoropoulos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews