We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest most welcoming server made us wan to move to Nanaimo”

Gina's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #30 of 342 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 June 2018

We are considering moving to Nanaimo and were anxious to support local business instead of chains that can be found anywhere. Gina's Mexican Café was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. There was a queue out on to the street when we arrived but the weather and the other people were pleasant so this was of no consequence ,
We were seated right by a window with a view which was very nice for visitors.
The menu has numerous options ,for different diets which I appreciate as a vegetarian.
The food came quickly even though the restaurant was full and it was delicious, but the real treasure at Gina's was a hard working ,very gregarious server named Debbie , she was a joy exuding warmth and competence while managing numerous tables and seating new arrivals.
We felt that if half the people in Nanaimo were as welcoming as Debbie this will be a very good place to live .
Mucho Gratitude Debbie

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elainik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Gina's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Gracias Elainik!! Glad you enjoyed our hospitality!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2018

We walked in (being the only customers there) and were not greeted by the front of house person, the server saw us seat ourselves but I had to approach her to get menus. This place claims to be serve authentic Mexican food but the food was inauthentic, bland and was cold in the middle.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jlaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Gina's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2018

We are sorry to read that your experience at our Mexican Cafe in Nanaimo was not enjoyable for you, jlaking.

We assure you that our team works their best to provide flavorful, freshly made menu items for each and every one of our customers' meals for the past 30 years.

If you are displeased with your meal, please let us know while you are at our cafe and we will make every effort to find something more to your liking, as we want the experience to be positive and delicious.

We would be pleased to discuss this with you personally to allow us another opportunity to deliver a great experience for you the next time that you visit Nanaimo.

We hope to hear from you soon. jlaking.

Sharon, owner of Gina's Mexican Cafe, can be reached at 250-753-5411 or email ginascafe@shaw.ca

All the best
-Sharon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

lunch here - wonderful - staff - food - just a wonderful time spent there - my lawyer friend in town for court - got us in and out - fed in record time -
Applaud all staff - love the food - and thank your for the speedy service

Thank beachgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Gina's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Gracias Beachgypsy! Glad to be able to accommodate!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Amazing authentic Mexican food, warm inviting atmosphere, very busy, great food great service great pricing. The fish tacos are amazing

Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Gina's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Gracias Len! Glad you enjoyed our little house on the hill!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

This quaint little house on a cliff makes close to authentic Mexican food. I had an enchilada and a burrito that had great flavour. The food is seasoned so similar to dishes I've had in Mexico that it's almost identical and the sangria was delicious too. The décor is quaint and reminded me of some places I've been to in Mexico. If I make it back to Nanaimo I will be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Commander1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S, Owner at Gina's Mexican Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Gracias Commander! Hope to see you back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gina's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Gina's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing