We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Painted Turtle Guesthouse(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
About The Sea B&B(Nanaimo)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (335)
Filter reviews
335 results
Traveller rating
96
158
57
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
158
57
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssausage pattiesfree breakfastnice hotelyogurtwaffle makergreek restaurantspacious roomhot breakfasttoilet paperfridge and microwavenext morninglots of parkingtop floorcomfortable staythe breakfast areajacuzzi tubferry terminal
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 335 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I'm a Canadian and I brought 60 room nights to Nanaimo this month as part of a group I was leading - read the reveiws here and wish I'd heeded the information about theft/break-ins to vehicles at Ramada. One of our group had his car stolen - recovered within 8 blocks about 2 days later - passport and most other travel documents gone. "Welcome to Canada" I wish I'd never listed this hotel on recommended accommodation. The staff were nice enough but totally incapable of rendering useful assistance.

Stayed: July 2009
7  Thank Speederchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchiNanaimo, Manager at Ramada by Wyndham Nanaimo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2009

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We appreciate the feedback and continue to use this to help us provide better service and accommodation to our guests.

Unfortunately the theft of items from cars is not a problem that is isolated to just our hotel or just our area. Please know that we most recently have added night security. We do continue to highly recommend that guests never leave anything in their cars.

Please accept our apologies that you did not have a good experience with your stay.
We hope that you will give our hotel another try the next time you are in Nanaimo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

The room was fine. Clean and comfortable enough, but not much of a view (see photo). The counter staff didn't look up and barely spoke at check-out. Our car wasn't broken into, so that was nice. We definitely wouldn't have stayed there if we had read the reviews on this site ahead of time, as we usually stay at the Coast Bastion Inn, where the underground parking feels somewhat secure. We just wanted to try somewhere new and the prices at the Ramada are better (and they offer a free breakfast). It wasn't an awful stay, but without friendly staff and appealing surroundings, the best this hotel has going for it is that it's new and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Home2Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We lobbed here on spec during a recent visit to Canada, and simply called in hoping for a room for the night after catching the ferry across from Horseshoe Bay. Very handy to the ferry terminal, being just a few blocks away. The only problem for us was the noise levels (not the fault of the Hotel I must admit) as there was some sort of kiddies convention happening in town, and the hotel was full of female-tweenies making a racket until all hours. The supervision levels from the chaperones was a little wanting, and the girls ran amok on all floors of the hotel. Staff were very helpful with providing us with a room with a trundle bed at very short notice, and this was greatly appreciated. The King room we were provided with also had a jacuzzi which our 10YO climbed straight into, and a very comfortable King size bed. Very handy after travelling all day. Use of the business centre and breakfast was included in the price and came in very handy for us. There is a Mediterranean inspired restaurant on the next block towards town that provided exceptional food & friendly service as well, and is well worth a visit. We had no problems with vehicle security, so I imagine that aspect has been addressed by the hotel, and the neighbourhood appears to be much safer than some others we have had to lob in around..(ie: New York/L.A. and/or London). All in all, very handy for those in transit, like us, or for business travellers...providing there is no kiddies convention happening in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2009

stayed for 4 nights in early February. Hotel, staff,service etc was first class

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank tartanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

The rooms were very nice, mine even had a balcony. The business center was down due to computer problems. The lady behind the front desk was very helpful and even lowered the nightly rate when she noticed I had a Nanaimo visitor guide that happened to have an ad that had a lower rate than I was quoted over the phone.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Good2go1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews