We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Order the food and use it as crab bait!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Cafe

Lakeside Cafe
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, View, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Order the food and use it as crab bait!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Terrible service, uncooked fish ,but the owners were friendly!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drdaveasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    101
    49
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Worst meal in town .. not worth the price unless you have an unlimited appetite”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

I had been at the hotel for a few days and decided to try the Lakeside Cafe for dinner .. advertised as Casual Family Dining. I had a spa lunch at Healing Springs which was excellent, so thought I may find a similar calibre of food here. The only thing available was a buffet but the selections sounded good. Wrong. The salad bar was excellent. Veggies lukewarm. Very tough, tasteless roast beef and barbecue chicken that had no white meat, bland looking roast pork and Seafood something in a sauce. The "Harrison Special" buffet should be avoided at all costs .. go to a local bistro or order room service instead. Have not tried the lounge downstairs yet but I am thinking that may have been a better choice. Absolutely no atmosphere in the Lakeside .. more like a cafeteria than something you would expect in a hotel of this caliber. No music, no flowers or plants of any kind in the outside dining area. Kind of reminded me like a lodge from the fifties or sixties. Go to Black Forest, Crazy Fish, Morgans or the Lakeside Restaurant (which is a small, streetside place in the village and less than half the price of the Lakeside Cafe in the Hotel. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

The restaurant was pratically empty and we were seated next to the kitchen entrance and could hear all the clatter, so we asked to me moved.
We ordered a glass of wine each and placed our order. 10-15 minutes later the waitress came over and said 'I'm sorry it appears that your order never reached the kitchen" so I will put it through again .... in other words she never put it through the first time. It took another 20 minutes to get our food and the club sandwich was a disaster. The bread was barely toasted, hardly any tomato, all in all it was not acceptable. The waitress never apologized again. Everyone around were complaining of the time it took to get their orders and as mentioned there were hardly any patrons in the place.
Hope she got the message with a "penny" in the middle of the table.
$34.00 less Entertainment Book coupon was certainly overpriced.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AJAPVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive frozen greasy food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Everything is cooked from frozen products, nothing fresh. They serve cod as halibut.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cataling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great breakfast buffet last year but this year closed when we were there:(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

The breakfast buffet was excellent, loads of fresh choices and a good value for all you could eat. Tried to go back this year but this venue in the resort was closed, either because of a function or slow off season, the staff we could find to ask did not seem to know.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VncrCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lakeside Cafe also viewed

Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
Harrison Hot Springs, British Columbia
 

Been to Lakeside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing