We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wings ”
Review of The Old Fork

The Old Fork
Ranked #17 of 118 Restaurants in Duncan
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Fork opened its doors on March 1, 2013. Instantly it has become a staple in the Duncan community as the most fun and funky place to grab a plate of food in the morning. Our most popular dishes: the Huevos Rancheros, Reggie's Old Fork and our classic bennies are house made and served by our friendly staff. Take a mix of old-style Southern goodness and modern restaurant professionalism with a Vancouver Island foodie sensibility and you have The Old Fork. Real Food made with Quality Ingredients at a Great Value.
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

I wish I had more time to sample the rest of the menu.

The kitchen is doing a lot of things the right way. Coffee and Ancho Chilli Braised Beef Short Ribs should be enough to grab your attention. House made: smoked marinara, hand cut fries, guacamole, quinoa patty gets my attention.

I will give it more time next when I am here again.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2018

I cannot possibly describe how pleasantly surprised I was at this restaurant. The place is very clean and modern, the service is absolutely stupendous and stellar in every way, and the food is nothing short of divine. You would be VERY pleased to obtain food of this high standard in a fine eatery in Vancouver or Toronto, so to find that in Duncan of all places is completely stunning.

Everything about the meal was perfect: The Big Kahuna burger is a magnificently savory Angus patty with lots of fixin's and the aioli really shines. The fries were phenomenal and the gravy was so rich and delectable that I drank it right out of the bowl! However, the Carbonara was the dish that truly belonged in a big city Italian bistro with a $60 pricetag, but you're getting it for $15, and $12 on Pasta Day!!! It's important to note that this is NOT a real Carbonara, but when it's this delicious who cares? It's a super yummy cream sauce packed full of mushrooms and bacon... but the amazing surprise is that the noodles are HOUSE MADE!!!! Fresh pasta? In Duncan? Truly hard to believe.

Head over here immediately and don't worry: all the cutlery including the forks are NEW!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank metaungulate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I would not go back to this restaurant due to the terrible service. The food was good but it was not worth the wait.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mackate2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

If they can get the service to a suitable standard, I think this would be a great little eatery, because the food was quite good. Here at brunch time, so orders were a mix of breakfasts and lunch.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brick_Tamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Always good here! The service was great dispite the packed restaurant and lineup out the door. The price is reasonable and the food is always fresh and cooked to perfection!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Van Isle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Fork also viewed

Duncan, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 
Duncan, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Old Fork? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing