We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Evenings”

Sawmill TapHouse and Grill
Ranked #5 of 41 Restaurants in Chemainus
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Description: Welcome to the Sawmill Taphouse & Grill, the home of good food for good people. Located in Chemainus Village Square the Sawmill offers a unique selection of Northwest Pacific craft beers, fresh Italian style wood fired pizzas and slow cooked smoked meat. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options are all available. Come on in for a birthday, corporate function or to just kick back with friends after a long day.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to the Sawmill Taphouse & Grill, the home of good food for good people. Located in Chemainus Village Square the Sawmill offers a unique selection of Northwest Pacific craft beers, fresh Italian style wood fired pizzas and slow cooked smoked meat. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options are all available. Come on in for a birthday, corporate function or to just kick back with friends after a long day.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Staying in nearby Ladysmith we ate here twice, some English friends recommended it. Inside the restaurant is large with high a ceiling, but as the weather was wonderful we ate outside. There is a pizza oven but other menu choices were more original so we resisted the temptation. I had some aromatic fish cakes, a starter but with chips and salad was more than enough. There were a variety of burgers, steaks, ribs etc. All tasty, and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Resisting temptation is never an easy thing to do but it sounds like you managed exceptionally! There is something on our menu for everyone, and that's great that you were able to take advantage of what might be some of the last good weather of the season. Please come again anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Went with a group of eleven and meals were served within minutes of each one.We were seated in a separate room which was great as everybody could talk and hear each one. A great variety of meals to choose from. Everybody enjoyed their choice of meals. Fantastic selection of beers to choose from. There own brews are very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Always great to hear that our guests have a great time with us Alan, Riot Brewery next door has four of our taps flowing with delicious beer at any given time, we are spoiled for sure. Our conference room at the back offers some privacy and is a little quieter, happy to hear that you and your party enjoyed it! Please come see us again anytime, we look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Great pub food and excellent craft beers. service is generally good. It can be busy on a theatre night so make a reservation.

Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Reservations are never a bad idea when the theatre is in town! Glad you've discovered us off the highway, we like to think we are the perfect place to check in on a trip up or down island. Hope to see you again on your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We are fortunate to live in Chemainus and within walking distance of the Sawmill. We generally find the service amazing ( though we do have a soft spot for Brandie and Ang!!) tThe food is most always very well prepared, our favourites are the pizzas,the tap house burger and the best hummus I have ever had. This being said, I feel that if they want to keep "the regulars" coming back, the menu needs some changes. Last time we were there we discussed how even a monthly special page attached to the old menu could be what is needed or better variety of dinner specials. Just a suggestion we are just starting to feel like a change is due .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hello Heather... Thanks so much for you regular patronage and kind words offered about our great staff and menu items... Our amazing kitchen team work really hard to ensure our in house made products are tasty and delicious... Your spot on with your comments about our menu, it's a great balancing act... Over the past month Chef Darcy & Chef Cody have been working on some revisions & additions for our menu... We look to have those offered to our guests late January, early February... Again our thanks to you for joining us, our regular guests are so very important to us!! And thanks heather for your feedback it is genuinely appreciated and allows us to develop and keep offering a great experience to both regular and new guests... By chance have you been in for Brunch on a Saturday or Sunday morning?? Great menu items and something a bit different... Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

After a glowing first review, my wife and I took another couple here before attending a theater event in the town. To be safe, I made a reservation 'just in case'. You guessed it. "No, we don't have your reservation"... stutter,stammer,scramble, scramble, So we wait, but fortunately for not too long to get a table. The first time there, two servers and the GM provided both excellent service and very strong product knowledge. That was the first time; second time, not so much. Next comes out our appies and mains at the same time. Not a catastrophe, but not that great either. Fortunately the offering were quite good, but not "excellent" as in our maiden voyage. We'll see what visit three brings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamHiggs, General Manager at Sawmill TapHouse and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

So sorry that your second experience with us was inconsistent with your first visit, especially when you are bringing friends to enjoy a wonderful night out. We work hard to provide excellent service and will be looking to go above and beyond the next time we see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sawmill TapHouse and Grill also viewed

Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
Chemainus, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Sawmill TapHouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing