We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
67
22
6
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
22
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small other guests gold rush breakfast was delicious historic town staying overnight granola st george unique experience main street shared bathroom after hours bucket list period furniture ceiling fan sitting on the balcony each morning
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Everything about this bed and breakfast was authentic and historic.
From the second you walk in, you feel like you've travelled back in time!
The hosts stayed in full character the entire time, which was a huge part of the charm! The rooms were perfectly decorated and there was even a charming sitting room to mingle with guests, the hosts, or enjoy a glass of wine.

There is also a balcony where you can sit all night, over looking an abandoned ghost town (blankets and quilts provided)!
You are also allowed to WALK AROUND THE EMPTY TOWN AT NIGHT, which is one of the coolest experiences you will ever have.

The hosts were incredible, friendly, and full of knowledge!
The breakfast was delicious.
Truly a one of a kind experience!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dmulhallyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed for two nights in the first week of July. There was family group of 7 of us. This place is a true gem..like taking a walk in history!!! The place is quaint and very much depicting the 'old days'. The beds are comfy...the bathroom (we shared with other family members) was clean modern. I have to say the very BEST part is when you get to the talk to Mr. Jim Boyce and Ms. Lynch who are the host and hostess They stay in character and are incredibly fun to interact with! They are a wealth of knowledge about the history and area of Barkerville. I would highly recommend this place (and Barkerville) to anyone who wants to really experience something unique. I have been numerous time over the years. Staying at the St George has been a true highlight! There are only 7 rooms I think so book early. It is truly magic to have all of Barkerville to yourself once the park closes for the day. Thank you Mr. Boyce and Ms. Lynch! We won't soon forget our trip and your hospitality!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in #3 which has room for a small cot to be brought in. The cot is not luxurious but I slept well!!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pammysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

My husband, myself and two teenage boys stayed here for two nights. When we got there we were admittedly concerned we would be bored the second night. There's no tv, is wifi though. There was no being bored! We really enjoyed sitting in the front room, meeting other guests and being entertained by our hosts!! They rarely break from character, so it is most entertaining to be in that time period and hear the stories. We perused the books from the library about gold rushes, and were just happy to unplug from things for a while! Breakfast was so good and filling!! Would totally recommend staying here, unplugging from electronics for a while, and just relaxing!
Like others have stated only a couple rooms have a bathroom in them. We booked two rooms, so we only shared our bathroom as a family, not with strangers. Rooms are small, so don't bring much (again as stated before you also have to carry everything or use a wagon)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

Staying in this hotel is the real deal. From the pressed metal ceilings in the guest rooms to the lovely antique furniture, you feel like you've stepped back in time.

The breakfast is wonderful too and special dietary requirements are happily accommodated.

However! If you haven't stayed in old style accommodation before, some elements here may surprise you: only a few of the rooms have ensuite bathrooms, the walls are thin and WIFI is patchy in some areas.

The rooms are small, very small, with little hanging space. It's wise not to bring a lot of luggage. For one thing, you have to haul your bags from the park gates to the hotel itself - not a great distance and wagons are provided - but you should be aware of this.

You are asked to take your shoes off at the door which was a first in our experience, even when we've stayed similar accommodation in the past.

While breakfast was delicious, everyone was sardined around two tables and then invited to serve themselves from a table on the far side of the room, all of which was rather awkward.

We stayed during hot weather and the only bedding option was a heavy duvet, as though the beds were made up for winter.

Towels were in the bedroom so if you forgot to take one to the shared bathroom with you, or forgot to take soap with you, the arrangement was a bit inefficient.

The bathroom was basically the three plumbing features: sink, shower and toilet. No soap, no towels, no hairdryer. Not a problem if you're prepared for it.

Room Tip: Next time we'll ask for one of the rooms with a private bath.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Owner at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

It's true that the St. George is an authentic experience, and not for those seeking a 'average' motel room...there's plenty of hotels that offer that! Here's a few notes for future readers: Thanks for your suggestions about the towels, although it might be even more awkward to keep them in the bathroom and arrive to find them all used up, by the other guest. Three rooms at the St. George have ensuites, four rooms do not, and are priced accordingly. Rooms without ensuites share a bathroom with only one other room, and we make sure that's the other party you travel with, or if you're only taking one 'shared-bath' room, then you soon get along with someone who signed up for exactly the same experience as you.

Shoes at the door may seem mildly inconvenient, but since the Stagecoach and the Freight waggon both leave "deposits" up and down the always dusty, or muddy streets, it's a precautionary measure!

Small spaces are typical of our hotel, opened originally in 1880, but there is a variety of public sitting spaces including the lobby, the covered 2nd story balcony, and the library.

I appreciate the comment: "not a problem if you're prepared for it." As the hoteliers of two unique accommodations, including the St. George, and as people who strive to get the most out of the travel experience, our motto is, "Make your accommodation your vacation!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The hotel is genuine gold rush Barkerville as it was many years ago.Lovely antique furnishings and decor.The hosts Dave and Cheryl are really fantastic hosts that know the history of the area, and made us feel welcome. The breakfasts were varied and substantial and the cook Sven was mindful of food preferences. I would have given it five stars except for a couple of things:
The pillows weren't comfortable and the room was hot, with no ceiling fan. Some hooks to hang things up would be nice. We shared a bathroom, which wasn't great but we knew that when we booked. There is no cell service in the area. It still was well worth staying at. Only sorry we missed the parity planned for the next night. Lovely people that like people! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12canoe, Manager at St. George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2017

Thanks for your review Wanda! You've described the hotel pretty well, and as the new owners we're playing plenty of catch-up to keep the authentic style(which is mandated by the park) and make the experience as modern as possible too. Just a few notes: It's true that cell service ends 80 km before you arrive here, but there is free wifi right in the hotel, and telephones for guests as needed. Since your hot experience we've installed fans(not in the ceiling though!) in all the rooms and even better bug screens! And....it's true...it was a magical evening that you yearned for! See you again! Dave and Cheryl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews