We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grizzly Bear Lodge & Safari
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in British Columbia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Hidden Cove Lodge(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Alert Bay Cabins(Alert Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haida Way Motor Inn(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Black Bear Resort(Port McNeill)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Inn(Port Hardy)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedars Inn(Zeballos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
78
6
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshumpback whalesknight inletcampbell riverwhale watchingblack beansfloat planesalmonhis teamsmall groupvancouver islandwhole experienceother guestsglendale covegreat wildlifewildlife viewingdinner tableknowledgeable guides
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We saw all the wildlife we'd hoped too - black bears, grizzlies, eagles, dolphins, whales and orcas. The lodge is in a beautiful location and the staff were fantastic. All the guides were knowledgable, passionate and great fun to be around. The staff made sure we had everything we needed, we only wish we had stayed longer than 3 days! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NatSydney52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

After searching the internet we decided to book with Grizzly Bear Lodge and we are so glad we did. We had an amazing time there,
The seaplane flight was fantastic and when you land at the lodge John & his wife Cathy and their staff all are waiting to greet you. The lodge was lovely & comfortable, food was excellent (thank you Maddie). George, Glenn, Ed & Clint made up the rest of the team & they made you feel really at ease and had such knowledge of the animals & they didn't mind all the questions you asked.
The trips to view the bears & whales were just amazing- we will never forget just sitting in the boat bobbing up & down eating our lunch, with Orca's just passing by -a truly memorable day which we thank you for.
We cannot tell you how much we enjoyed the time we had there, if you are thinking about going then book at the lodge - you will not regret it for one moment
The views just from the lodge alone were spectacular.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janissadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2010

My husband & I stayed at Sailcone/Grizzly Bear Lodge in September 2009. We had searched the internet to find a location where we could view wildlife, particularly Grizzly Bears, having established that September is the ultimate time to view the bears! We planned the trip with our friends who live in Vancouver & Galiano Island, so we needed to find something for them, that was a bit different. We booked directly by email with John at the Lodge & were impressed by his prompt reply & how helpful he was.
The seaplane flight to & from the lodge is an experience in itself - so spectacular! On arrival at the lodge we were greeted by the staff & shown to our rooms, after which most of the guests were served amazing seafood (I have seafood allergy, but I was well catered for with delicious alternatives!) We then headed straight out in the boat with George to view the scenery & search for Black Bears.
Grizzly Bear Lodge is unique in that all the trips are in small groups with a very knowledgeable guides. The largest group per boat is 4 people, so you really get the individual attention. The small boats are very powerful & comfortable and have the advantage of getting close to the shore and into areas where larger boats can't go.
Day 2 was our trip to see the Grizzly Bears and that day far exceeded our expectations. We saw 15 bears i total - all at close range. It was fascinating to see the bears fishing & eating so much fish! We managed to take some stunning photos. The icing on the cake were the dolphins which followed the boat on the way back!
Day 3 we set out for the Johnstone Straight Whale watching. it was a beautiful misty morning & the scenery was stunning. Although we searched for Orcas, there were none in the area, but the lack of Orcas was far outweighed by the amazing sightings of so many Humpback Whales SO close to the boat. We ate a delicious lunch in the boat in totally flat sea with only the sound of the whales blowing and the seabirds - it was amazing! The best location I have ever eaten lunch! We also got to see many types of Seabirds, Bald Eagles and Sea lions. George always manoeuvred the boat so that we could get the best photos.
All in all the trip to Grizzly Bear/Sailcone Lodge was stunning! The Lodge only holds 12 guests, so is never crowded, The food is outstanding and delicious and the staff are all so about the area & the wildlife, which adds to the perfection of the experience. All guests are provided with survival suits, so you are always dry, warm & cosy, no matter what the weather brings!
If you want an experience that you will never forget - this is the place to go - a photographers dream!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnUKhertsfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

My husband and I are not outdoor adventurers as a rule, but we were able to experience the thrills of seeing grizzlies up close, whales at a stone's throw, play with dolphins by the hundreds as they chased our boat. The guides were knowledgeable, but fun to be with too. We would never have seen the beauty of the BC bush and the salmon run without them. The food was delicious and plentiful. Rooms were basic but clean and we slept well. When the waves and swells got high, we wished for a bigger boat. But the adventure was even more memorable because of the thrills and sharing experiences with great people. We highly recommend this experience to both young and young at heart. (the over 60 crowd)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happilyretired05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2010

Three times we have visited and each time has been memorable! The fishing, wildlife,food and most of all the people are great. The atmosphere is like home from home. Everyone is friendly. The guides are great whether you go to fish, or to see and photograph wildlife, they really put themselves out. We'll go back again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews