We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
Review of Jasper SkyTram

Jasper SkyTram
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.30*
and up
Jasper SkyTram
Ranked #5 of 50 things to do in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A tramway system providing scenic views of the Canadian Rockies.
queensland australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

After doing the Gondola in Banff, we were debating about doing this tramway - after a visit to the Jasper Information Centre in town, we were told that Mt Robson was to die for and an inversion was happening. Being novices we had no idea what any of this meant, but it sounded good!
Staff at tramway were friendly and held the tram that was due to leave for a few minutes until we could get our tickets. Trip up was breathtaking. When we got to the top we worked out what all the fuss at the information centre was about! An inversion (when clouds sit below the mountain peaks) only happens a few times a year, and Mt Robson is only visible a few times a year also, so we got the double!
Kids were happy to walk up the trail to the snow. Track becomes a little rough and you do need to be careful. Freezing cold - make sure you take gloves/beaning/jacket etc even if it is not a cold day - our 14 year old learnt this the hard way!
Beautiful views of the Canadian Rockies and green/blue lakes below are amazing colours.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank hcame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    622
    170
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We took our Aussie family up the tramway and all enjoyed the trip. It was worth the trek further up the mountain to visit the hoary marmots "hiding" in the rocks... they came out for photos when we were quiet.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank hamigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great attraction for the lazy and hikers as well”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A quick ride takes you up to another (colder) world. If you do not want to hike, you can still take in the amazing view from the terrace and observe the whistlers (and hear them whistle) and take the next tram down. But hiking up to the top of the mountain is also very rewarding - and a bit challenging - you can enjoy the pretty alpine flowers and the 360 degree view . Really feels like you are on top of the world!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bobemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Views”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

There were good views down the valleys and you could see Jasper from above,definitely well worth doing. Having said that we also did the tramways in Whistler, Banff and Lake Louise and I personally preferred the first two to this one.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisBolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“early morning beautiful”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We took the first tram up and as it was still a little foggy so we went to the resturant for morning breakfast, which was great. Clouds cleared some so you could see Jasper town. The ride up and down have some beautiful country to see

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank HicksWinnipeg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jasper SkyTram also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper SkyTram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing