We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
3
5
4
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
5
4
2
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Based on the fact that this property is a :| and the owner sent a private welcome message after making the booking on expedia, this place was not what we expected. She was very nice, but the sheets were dirty (smelled like somebody else's sweat) and there was 2 dogs in the house: one that followed us EVERYWHERE within the house! Yes, in the bedroom and bathroom! And another one that stayed in the back during the day and was put in the front room at night. The party of our group who stayed there spoke very little English, therefore they didn't voice their opinion to the owner right away, plus other rooms in Jasper were either sold out or super expensive.
Anyway, we will not be staying there again nor recommend it to others. The dog situation is very serious!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank VVegas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

We were told to arrive after 5 pm. We arrived at 6:30 pm and found the door not locked but the owner was away. We were tired (it was a long way from Lake Louise) but we couldn't enter the private house when nobody was in it. So we arrived the second time at 8 pm but nothing changed. For the third time (it was after 9 pm) we were more lucky and found somebody home. When we asked about free WIFI we were told that the password we will get later (it was 9:30 pm). The room was not clean. It was impossible to operate the shower (the knob that we needed to pull was stiffed), so we didn't get a shower in the evening and next morning too. Breakfast was very poor. From the fruits there were an orange, some grapes and banana with black skin on the table. The bred was wet and it wasn't even a simple coffee machine (just instant coffee). Very bad hotel! We would not recommend to stay at this place.

Room Tip: I would not recommend to stay in any room in this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015

This is a Room in a House for rent, you share the 1 Bathroom will everyone & that is not fun when the room we had was right next to the bathroom.
The Dogs are great but they do leave their smell everywhere which was not too pleasant

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

Umm, well... It's a place to put your head down for the night, but that is all. Communal bathroom that only had enough hot water for 2.5 short hot showers. Breakfast is really none existent. There was toast, cereals, instant coffee, tea and hot chocolate in our room. We are celiac which meant we had to go out for our breakfast. If you are looking for the cozy B&B experience, you are out of luck.

Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank NancyCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Louise welcomes you to her home with a genuine smile and a "my home is your home" approach. The living room is where everyone can watch TV, talk, or admire her two huge dogs. Upstairs is a large bedroom with two queen sized beds, along with a small fridge, micro wave, and writing table. The shared bathroom is on the main floor so be aware of the walk. The other guest bedroom is on the main floor, with a large queen sized bed. The bed was far too soft for my taste, and left me with a sore back every morning. The bed was my main issue, however, the smell in the room also detracted from my enjoyment of our stay. Neither my wife nor I could identify it, but whatever it was, the smell was noticeable and unpleasant. People can get used to a smell, and we did, but it was always there. The TV in both bedrooms is basically for decoration, but there is Wifi in the house so you can get your news digitally or simply read.
Breakfast is available in the sense that we had fruit, cereal, milk and bread available to eat, and we made our own breakfast.
The communal bathroom on the main floor, is used by everyone in the house. It has its quirks. The cold water tap in the sink drips if you close it all the way, so you have to back it off a bit to stop the drip. The stand alone old world bath tub faucet did not work at all and constantly leaked. The shower was difficult to turn on but worked.
The decorations in the bathroom and throughout the house were interesting, but perhaps not to everyone's taste. The Christmas tree and St. Nicholas were charming and delightful.
We really loved being introduced to the dogs who live at Calla's Palace at the moment. At 110 pounds Harley is a gentle giant.
The location is excellent, only a few minutes away from the main shopping street in Jasper, and there was on street parking in front of the house.
I enjoyed meeting Louise and appreciated her very friendly, old world approach to the bed and breakfast experience, however, the relatively high price for what you get, coupled with three bad sleeps due to the soft bed, and the visible wear and tear in the bathroom, prevent me from giving anything other than an average rating for this establishment.

Room Tip: I would choose the second floor room with two queen beds as there was no smell noticeable up stairs.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donmac451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews