We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - Affordable, great value for money and friendly!”
Review of B&B on Balsam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
B&B on Balsam
Ranked #22 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I cannot recommend this place highly enough for a couple backpacking on a budget. What a beautiful family - not only was Lori so welcoming and friendly but her two boys too. I injured my knee on a hike whilst in Jasper and Dan & Lori's son was kind enough to lend me his flexi-grip and hiking pole. Such a nice gesture!

Added to that, the bed was super comfortable, it is in an IDEAL location and out of all the rested accommodations/B & B's in the area was the cheapest we found. There is such a community feel here and if you find you want to extend your stay but they can't find room for you, Lori will be on hand to help you find a friend that does. As others have said, 2 rooms here, only 1 of which is a double bed - so if you are a couple try to book the Queen room early enough. Don't hesitate, great stay!

Thanks Lori & family and if we are ever lucky enough to visit Jasper again we will be sure to look you up! Mark & Hayley

Room Tip: Double and twin - book early for double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_SID_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

My mother doesn't have Internet. This is her review in her own words:

Lori was a very pleasant host overall. She picked us up from the train station and was very informative about things to see in the area. The main disappointment was breakfast - you either had to eat outside in the garden or in your room. It was pretty cool the mornings we were there and we didn't fancy eating in our room. Therefore, we ended up eating elsewhere. Lori recommended the Best Western as an alternative, and that was a fantastic suggestion.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank writeonOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have spent two nights in this B&B recently during our visit to the Jasper National Park, loved it. It is located in a very quite street. Jasper is really small town, so it is very convenient to walk to everywhere. The host Lori is very nice and thoughtful. The bed is comfortable. Best of all, you can't beat the price, it is probably the cheapest you can find in a touristy town like Jasper. Highly recommend. There are two rooms, one with a queen bed, and the other with two twin beds. So if you are a couple, try to book early the queen bed one.

Breakfast is good, with fruits, cake and cheerios. It is not bad, but if you want to have a hot breakfast, there are plenty of choices of $6.95 breakfast special choices on the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PikkuOrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was the first bed and breakfast we stayed at on our travels and after this stayed at another 2 because the experience was that good. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs that share a bathroom but as we were the only ones there at the time we didn't need to share. We received breakfast in bed every morning how often can you say that? Lori was fantastic and helped with any travelling advice she could in regards to what is nice and where to look for potential bears (unfortunately a little out of season for us). The location is perfect you don't have to drive to town at all as its only 3 blocks away, which was great when going for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingPiglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

My wife and I stayed for three days in this very comfortable B & B. There are two rooms available, one with a queen bed and one with two twins. The rooms share a bathroom, but there was nobody in the other room when we checked in, so we had the whole place to ourselves. As others have said here the rooms are quite clean and comfortable and we slept like babies on the bed. It was rainy one afternoon and we spent the afternoon lazing around, reading, watching TV and taking naps. Very mellow. Lori and her husband, Dan, are really nice and they will help you with anything you need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nils62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
0.8 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
711 Miette Ave
711 Miette Ave
#20 of 57 in Jasper
15 reviews
0.8 km away
All Seasons Accommodations
1.2 km away
Celtic Haven
Celtic Haven
#11 of 57 in Jasper
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B on Balsam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B on Balsam

Address: 311 Balsam Ave, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range: €33 - €43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely 2nd storey renovated rooms with private entrance, private outside patio and gorgeous mountain views! Located on a very quiet street only 2 blocks to downtown. Park the car in front of our house and its 5 minute walk to everything Jasper has to offer! Queen bed in one room and 1 Double pullout sofa bed in the sitting room. The sitting room has a table with chairs, fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, dishes & utensils, and coffee/tea/hot chocolate. Large private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing