We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (171)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
25
52
53
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
52
53
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm bottom bunk common space lounge area minute drive lockable clerk
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Jasper. I met some great people and had some great chats - this is important to the stay as it of course attracts a certain type of people - different to those in a downtown HI in a big city.

It was basic, it was rustic but it did the job that it needed to do. It had plenty of beds, plenty of room in the communal area and a kitchen area that you know . . . allowed you to cook. Not as if you need to cook a gourmet meal right? This isn't like the HI you may have experienced in Whistler which is more like a hotel (Olympic Village) so it is rough around the edges, a little nippy in the evening / morning but it felt like a 'real' hostel, where you take your shoes off in the lobby, it's open so you talk to people and the beds are good enough to sleep in.

For those whining about snoring and shared dorms . . . maybe hostels aren't your thing - it's going to happen!

Oh and it's cheap!

I'd certainly go back

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eddiehunter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your review of your stay at HI-Jasper. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed one night in Sept 2016.

We arrived quite late (near 11 PM) and were glad that the reception was still open and checked us in for our booking of two bunks.

Couldn't tell if the sheets or towels were clean as it was already lights out by the time we arrived, and we also left early the next day.

I slept on the upper bunk, the mattress was as you would expect for an old and historic hostel. I personally felt that the heating was also a little too warm for my liking.

In addition to that, the dorms are huge and as such we have no choice about who sleeps next to us. We had a dorm mate who kept checking his things with a huge flashlight every 10-15 minutes past 11PM, and continued to curse and swear at everybody and nobody whenever there was a little bit of noise (e.g. snoring, movements of plastic bags, footsteps when late arrivals came in). This was quite troubling and I honestly feared what he would do to me in my sleep, as I was sleeping in just the bunk next to his!

The toilets are clean and well-maintained, showers were hot. On the overall the facilities look really historic like something you would find from the 1960s. The electrical plugs were not conveniently located near your bunk like some of the other HI hostels.

Probably needs some renovation!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LimH685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at HI-Jasper. We are sorry to read that you were disrupted by the dorm mate next to you. When space permits, we are happy to allow guests to move beds in such situations. We are glad you found the hostel to be clean. We are regularly seeking solutions to address the fact that ours is an older building. We have provided lots of power bars and extension cords throughout the building to provide more access to electrical plugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Traveling through Jasper for one night, just needed a bed. Check in was easy, the common space was very nice, big kitchen, and clean/working showers. Stayed in the all female dorm and it was quiet, the bed was super comfy, and the blanket was warm. Plenty of outlets for charging devices and good wifi. I thought there was a price discrepancy but the price I saw online looked cheaper because it was in USD, so that ended up being all good.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thanks for your review. We are happy to read that you had a comfortable sleep and enjoyed the common spaces in the hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This place is incredibly cute. The dorms sleep A LOT of people. Lights out at 10pm so you have to wander around with a torch. Make sure you have ear plugs, we had an incredibly loud snorer in the mixed dorm. Kitchen & common room areas are lovely. Location a little awkward in relation to Jasper town.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay at HI-Jasper. We are glad to read that you found the common areas to be lovely. We do have that 10pm lights out so that people can sleep in the rooms after long days in the mountains. We also provide earplugs for free at our front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The nicest staff welcomes you and guides you through your stay in Jasper. There's almost thought of every eventuality in the hostel; shoe rack outside; labels for you food; recycling; outlets everywhere for chargers; self-serve coffee; tons of books, games, and not the least inspirational material. Would use it again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Anders V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Thank you for your review of HI-Jasper. We are glad you found it welcoming and homey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews