We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of HI-Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Jasper
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

This hostel is clean and tidy and in a very beautiful location 7km outside of Jasper town. Very close to the Skytram and some lovely walking trails. While the dorms are very large they are well maintained and all common areas are clean. The showers in the girls bathrooms aren't the best and the temperature is a little bit temperamental but it's not the end of the world. The open fireplace in the hostel is a lovely touch. Some of the staff are a little bit cold and unfriendly which is a shame because others are lovely so it can be a bit hit and miss. Wifi connection isn't great but that is to be expected given the location and isn't really a problem! I would definitely recommend staying here and would stay again.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016

I really enjoyed my stay at HI Jasper. I met some great people and had some great chats - this is important to the stay as it of course attracts a certain type of people - different to those in a downtown HI in a big city.

It was basic, it was rustic but it did the job that it needed to do. It had plenty of beds, plenty of room in the communal area and a kitchen area that you know . . . allowed you to cook. Not as if you need to cook a gourmet meal right? This isn't like the HI you may have experienced in Whistler which is more like a hotel (Olympic Village) so it is rough around the edges, a little nippy in the evening / morning but it felt like a 'real' hostel, where you take your shoes off in the lobby, it's open so you talk to people and the beds are good enough to sleep in.

For those whining about snoring and shared dorms . . . maybe hostels aren't your thing - it's going to happen!

Oh and it's cheap!

I'd certainly go back

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eddiehunter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your review of your stay at HI-Jasper. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Stayed one night in Sept 2016.

We arrived quite late (near 11 PM) and were glad that the reception was still open and checked us in for our booking of two bunks.

Couldn't tell if the sheets or towels were clean as it was already lights out by the time we arrived, and we also left early the next day.

I slept on the upper bunk, the mattress was as you would expect for an old and historic hostel. I personally felt that the heating was also a little too warm for my liking.

In addition to that, the dorms are huge and as such we have no choice about who sleeps next to us. We had a dorm mate who kept checking his things with a huge flashlight every 10-15 minutes past 11PM, and continued to curse and swear at everybody and nobody whenever there was a little bit of noise (e.g. snoring, movements of plastic bags, footsteps when late arrivals came in). This was quite troubling and I honestly feared what he would do to me in my sleep, as I was sleeping in just the bunk next to his!

The toilets are clean and well-maintained, showers were hot. On the overall the facilities look really historic like something you would find from the 1960s. The electrical plugs were not conveniently located near your bunk like some of the other HI hostels.

Probably needs some renovation!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at HI-Jasper. We are sorry to read that you were disrupted by the dorm mate next to you. When space permits, we are happy to allow guests to move beds in such situations. We are glad you found the hostel to be clean. We are regularly seeking solutions to address the fact that ours is an older building. We have provided lots of power bars and extension cords throughout the building to provide more access to electrical plugs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Newark, Delaware
5
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Traveling through Jasper for one night, just needed a bed. Check in was easy, the common space was very nice, big kitchen, and clean/working showers. Stayed in the all female dorm and it was quiet, the bed was super comfy, and the blanket was warm. Plenty of outlets for charging devices and good wifi. I thought there was a price discrepancy but the price I saw online looked cheaper because it was in USD, so that ended up being all good.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Thanks for your review. We are happy to read that you had a comfortable sleep and enjoyed the common spaces in the hostel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

This place is incredibly cute. The dorms sleep A LOT of people. Lights out at 10pm so you have to wander around with a torch. Make sure you have ear plugs, we had an incredibly loud snorer in the mixed dorm. Kitchen & common room areas are lovely. Location a little awkward in relation to Jasper town.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel T, Manager at HI-Jasper, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay at HI-Jasper. We are glad to read that you found the common areas to be lovely. We do have that 10pm lights out so that people can sleep in the rooms after long days in the mountains. We also provide earplugs for free at our front desk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
4.6 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
4.4 km away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
752 reviews
4.3 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
2.5 km away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
744 reviews
7.3 km away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Jasper

Address: 1 Skytram Road | 4 km south of Jasper off Hwy 93, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: €38 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — HI-Jasper 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Gateway to the Wilderness Perched on the side of Whistler's Mountain, this is the place in Jasper to connect with nature and other like minded adventure seeking travelers. The mountain peak out the front door begs to be climbed the trailhead is only steps away. How can you resist? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your HI-Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Jasper Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing