We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hayward House

Hayward House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hayward House
Ranked #52 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Good position is only positive I can find, unless cheap is another criteria, which it is for jasper, but you get what you pay for. Absolutely no towel rails or even hooks in the shared bathroom. In the bedroom no drawers, no wardrobe, nowhere to hang anything apart from 4 wooden pegs on the wall with one wire coat hanger. Apart from 2 small bedside tables, nowhere to put things on apart from the bed and the one chair. Walls are paper thin, so you need to be staying there with someone you know well. Rear stairs at back up to private entrance are killers, so you need to be young and fit. Sorry, but can't recommend

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 6 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2015

This is probably one of the lowest price B&B you can find in the town of Jasper! However, don't make any assumption, as I'm sure it is better than many more expensive places in town.

Located on the upper level of a small house right in downtown Jasper, this B&B has two reasonably sized rooms, one slightly bigger than the other. The bigger room can comfortably sleep three, while the smaller one sleeps two. The two rooms share a full bath. The owners keep the place meticulously clean, even the shared bath. There is a well stocked common area with a small fridge, microwave, tea/coffee and all the utensils you may need to serve a simple meal. The bathroom is thoughtfully supplied with piles of clean towels, glasses, soap and shampoo. WiFi signal is strong. There is one parking space for each room at the back of the house, with direct access to a nice shared balcony and the rooms upstairs.

During our two nights there, we never had a problem with noise from our neighbor nor experienced any inconvenience on the shared bath.

If you are looking for a no-frill, clean, comfortable, conveniently located place to spend the night in Jasper, Hayward House will definitely fit the bill!

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room if you want more space. Rent both rooms if you want more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexminute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed over, three adults, on a golfing trip and were very glad we booked at the Hayward House. I was hesitant to book at first since the price was so much lower than every other place we looked at but in the end it was just great value without sacrifice. We were given a quaint (in all the great ways) room with its own entrance and patio. Our room had a queen with a seperate futon and shared bath. The space was immaculately clean, comfortable, and everything was included down to the board game collection! There is no breakfast included but we were steps to restaurants so we didnt mind at all (though I think there was a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker provided... I think). We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Megsg3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

In terms of value for the money, it is hard to outdo this B&B without breakfast, which I highly recommend. One just has to keep in mind that it is not a high-end hotel. It is located fairly close to the town center, maybe 10 minutes away on foot, and one block from the main street. The house might seem a bit unkempt on the inside, which does not create the best first impression. The two rented rooms however are on the upper floor/attic, and the entrance is separate, on metal stairs added on to the building, which lead you to the large balcony directly from the parking lot. It is an old house, and this is immediately visible inside, but the owners have done a very good job painting and decorating, and as a result the rooms have a lot of character. A small hall hosting a fridge and a coffee maker, as well as a bathroom occupy the rest of the upper floor. There is a steep staircase leading down to the lower floor, but it does not seem to see much use. The bathroom, while obviously old, is in good shape and includes a bath tub and lots of towels. Each room has a decent bed, and one has an additional and quite uncomfortable sleeping space by the window. The furniture is quite scarce but certainly sufficient. We rented both rooms with a party of five, and this was rather convenient, but I could see how the space could become unpleasantly intimate if two different parties had the two rooms. Everything was very clean and tidy. The owner seemed nice, but we interacted only very briefly.
Overall, it is conveniently located and very inexpensive by Jasper standards, it is clean and has more character than a hotel setting. If you are watching your budget and need more than one bed, do consider seriously this location. I would definitely stay here again.
The dogs deserve a special mention, two large and apparently friendly huskies that roam the yard. They seem to be well-known howlers, and did offer a concert for us. You'd think it would be unpleasant and rather creepy late at night, but the howl is quite subdued and rather musical. Plus, when we though it was enough, they did stop on request. If you don't like dogs, or would prefer to keep your kids away from them, the entrance to the upper floor circumvents the yard entirely.

Room Tip: If you value privacy and only need one room, you might want to consider the option of renting out bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Hayward house was a welcome break from camping in chilly September in the Rockies. Ann, the owner is friendly, and you get good privacy too- the guest section has a different set of stairs at the back of the house. There are two rooms with one shared bathroom. Our room was a good size, comfortable, clean and there is free wi-fi too. No complaints, and the price is great for Jasper. I would stay there again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank borntotramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.3 km away
Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge
1.7 km away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
1.9 km away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.4 km away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hayward House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hayward House

Address: 736 Patricia Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range: €43 - €60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are two rooms of accommodation on the second floor. You will be met by 2 friendly malamute dogs. There are great views of the south and west valleys. Our house was built in 1926 and has loads of character with dormers and sloped ceilings. We have a large balcony for guest to relax on during their mountain stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing