We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
138
250
178
102
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
250
178
102
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room frosted glass next morning ice field discovery center columbia icefields twin beds remote location surrounding mountains stayed one night high season canadian rockies banff toe sofa highway hiking
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Property needs better management We have stayed there many times before and it is not being managed as well as in the past. In general rooms and public areas were not as clean as they have been in the past. Staff were not always friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Terence G,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Glacier View Inn. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We have a 24/7 team that is in charge of cleaning the public area. With a flow of 5000 persons per day going trough the building at this time of the season, some area can get more dirty than other and with the winter conditions that we had in the past week the floor can get dirty really fast as well. As it's the end of the season and the hotel is closing, we deep clean all the rooms to get ready for the next season. I would like to know more about the staff that were not friendly, we trained our employee to give an excellent customer services and it is not in the company policy to be unfriendly with our guest. We are sorry about that. Is you can provide me with a name or department and time that staff were not friendly, we will follow with them. You can email me at kdelisle@pursuitcollection.com

Kind regards

Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Great location, right in the middle between Jasper and Lake Louise. Beautiful views.
It gets very crowded during the day because of the bus service to the glass floored viewing deck. After 6pm it quietens down, except for the noisy generator running 24/7 outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our loft room with the glacier view was absolutely beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The only thing we would have liked to see were to have bathrooms a bit more modernized. Otherwise, we enjoyed our day alot. The hotel location was perfect for our trip, right on the Icefield Parkway. The staff were very nice and made sure we had a playpen for our young toddler.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yorickt784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

The hotel was very unclean! The elevators were filthy, the stairways were nasty, the room itself didn't look like it was cleaned. When we walk in the room the bathroom has hair all over the floor, sink, and tub. They had cups in the bathroom that were used and not replaced!
The check in staff were rude and not kind to anyone! Even the parking lot attendant was rude to us.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Stephen S,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I would appreciate if you can email me at kdelisle@pursuitcollection.com the date you stayed at the hotel or your confirmation number. From your comment, you stayed with us middle of the summer as we don't have a parking attendant during shoulder season. We want to follow with the employees, parking attendant and front desk agent that you had a bad experience with. Concerning the room, we do a room inspection before anyone can check in in the room and we provided guest with plastic and paper cup to ensure that you have clean cup at all time. We are sorry that you didn't feel that the property was clean. Your comment will be transfer to the building manager that is in charge of stairwells and elevator. Again, thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards

Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

I’m confused about how I should rate this hotel because the views are spectacular, the server we had at the Altitude restaurant was very attentive, Lisa at the front desk was great when we had to push our reservation back a day after getting stuck in a snowstorm in Drumheller, and our room was clean except for the shower curtain....yet there were a few issues that really riled me up. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere....which is good and bad. Good because the views are amazing, it’s quiet, and peaceful....bad, because if you are hungry, you are forced to eat at the Altitude restaurant which has a very limited menu and is very overpriced! So I gave it a 3 because I would rate the former at a 5, the latter at a 1. The parking is so far from where the rooms are, yet you have to initial a waiver stating that they are not responsible for losses. This made me uncomfortable because we were on a three week road trip and bring a small tote into each hotel with just what we need for the evening while leaving the remainder of our things in the car! And to make matters worse, I forgot something and had to walk a good distance late at night to retrieve it. It was pretty scary. If you stay here you’ll be treated respectfully by the staff, your views will be amazing, but my suggestion would be to eat in Jasper or Banff before heading to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Joanne S,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Glacier View Inn. We are happy to hear that our staff were attentive to your need and that we manage to change your reservation date without any issues. We are located in a unique place and the view is everything. The hotel is facing 5 magnificent glaciers. For our next season we are currently looking at improving the menu and hours of operations of both our restaurants. Concerning the parking lot, we allow our guest to drive behind the discovery center to drop your luggage's off. We also have flash light that you can borrow if it's to dark at night to go to the parking lot. We are located in a dark sky preserve area of the National Park and we are not allowed to install more lights in the parking lot or around the Discovery center. Again thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Kind regards,

Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews