We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (717)
Filter reviews
717 results
Traveller rating
138
250
178
102
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
250
178
102
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft room frosted glass next morning ice field discovery center columbia icefields twin beds remote location surrounding mountains stayed one night high season canadian rockies banff toe sofa highway hiking
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 717 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

The view from the room will not disappoint. I would definitely recommend staying the night and enjoying the views and the tour to any of my friends and family. My only complaint is that there was only one, expensive food choice for night time dining. I recommend either packing your dinner in coolers or buying a sandwich/salad from the Chalet while it is still open. Otherwise, be prepared to spend $50/person for a buffet. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 669jennab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This hotel is situated across from the glacier in a perfect location. It is pricey with few ammeneties, pretty basic. The tv was not large considering the size of the room and the room is somewhat outdated. You should bring your own food as the cafe closes early and the other restaurant, which we visited for breakfast is fairly pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fishingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We used the Glacier View Inn as "homebase" for our three day stay in Banff. It was clean, staff was very friendly, bed was comfortable. It fitted to our expectations, price was appropriate for the service - always in mind that it's in the middle of a crowded nationalpark. Short ways too many attractions and hikes were very valuable

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pascals812017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Only place to stay and they know it, and hence are not highly motivated to make your experience pleasant.

Our room was spacious but many of the finer details were wanting - screen windows missing, no fridge, and pictures hung over the beds in such a way that I paid there hoping I wasn't going to be decapitated in the night.

The restaurant scene was simply obscene price-gouging. The cafeteria (where you want to eat) closes at 6pm sharp and the staff are quite rude about it. We walked in at 5:55 and were told we'd have to take our outside (amid the flies and mosquitos) because at 6pm sharp they force everyone to leave. Such service! Obviously they want to make families pay the $49/person buffet...which looked like glorified cafeteria food. The cafeteria was overpriced already...this is simply abusive.

The ground floor was constantly jammed with people because they queue there for tours, plus there's a gift shop, etc., so you fight through that with luggage to get with your room.

Speaking of that, the only parking is about 200m away from the entrance, down a hill and over a bridge. And there's no unloading zone, so it's really fun to take one of their tiny luggage carts there and back and there and back.

The whole place reeks of "oh, you're a customer? give us your money and stop bothering us" attitude. If I was going back, I'd rather stay some place and drive to the ice fields than stay at this clip joint. But hey, if you like Motel 6 service at Four Seasons prices...maybe this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask if the room have screens if you don't like mosquitos in your room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raindog308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello raindog308,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Glacier View Inn.
I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit here to the Glacier View Inn. Unfortunately we do not have any fridges in the room, it is something that we are working on for the future. As we currently don't have the power generator to provided microwave and mini fridge in the room.

Concerning the restaurant and cafeteria, we will address the food and beverage manager with your comments to ensure a better service and quality of food.

As the ground floor is the parks Canada desk & guest services for tours it is very busy on a daily basis, However guest services do try their hardest to keep this area flowing in a quick manner so that there is space for people to move through freely.

The hotel parking is just over the footbridge. We do have an unloading zone which can be accessed after the hours of 6pm and also we do have luggage pull option where we can have one of our employees assist you with this.

Again, I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your visit here.

Kind regards

Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

The room we stayed in at the Glacier View Inn was bigger than expected. We had beautiful views of the Athabasca Glacier which made the stay completely worthwhile. The room was quiet and the amenities in the room were perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonathan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews