We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You're a Captive Audience and They Know It. Please Stay Elsewhere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Glacier View Inn
Reviewed 23 July 2017

Only place to stay and they know it, and hence are not highly motivated to make your experience pleasant.

Our room was spacious but many of the finer details were wanting - screen windows missing, no fridge, and pictures hung over the beds in such a way that I paid there hoping I wasn't going to be decapitated in the night.

The restaurant scene was simply obscene price-gouging. The cafeteria (where you want to eat) closes at 6pm sharp and the staff are quite rude about it. We walked in at 5:55 and were told we'd have to take our outside (amid the flies and mosquitos) because at 6pm sharp they force everyone to leave. Such service! Obviously they want to make families pay the $49/person buffet...which looked like glorified cafeteria food. The cafeteria was overpriced already...this is simply abusive.

The ground floor was constantly jammed with people because they queue there for tours, plus there's a gift shop, etc., so you fight through that with luggage to get with your room.

Speaking of that, the only parking is about 200m away from the entrance, down a hill and over a bridge. And there's no unloading zone, so it's really fun to take one of their tiny luggage carts there and back and there and back.

The whole place reeks of "oh, you're a customer? give us your money and stop bothering us" attitude. If I was going back, I'd rather stay some place and drive to the ice fields than stay at this clip joint. But hey, if you like Motel 6 service at Four Seasons prices...maybe this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask if the room have screens if you don't like mosquitos in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raindog308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello raindog308,

Thanks for taking the time to review the Glacier View Inn.
I am sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit here to the Glacier View Inn. Unfortunately we do not have any fridges in the room, it is something that we are working on for the future. As we currently don't have the power generator to provided microwave and mini fridge in the room.

Concerning the restaurant and cafeteria, we will address the food and beverage manager with your comments to ensure a better service and quality of food.

As the ground floor is the parks Canada desk & guest services for tours it is very busy on a daily basis, However guest services do try their hardest to keep this area flowing in a quick manner so that there is space for people to move through freely.

The hotel parking is just over the footbridge. We do have an unloading zone which can be accessed after the hours of 6pm and also we do have luggage pull option where we can have one of our employees assist you with this.

Again, I am sorry that you were unsatisfied with your visit here.

Kind regards

Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 89 of 608 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2017

The room we stayed in at the Glacier View Inn was bigger than expected. We had beautiful views of the Athabasca Glacier which made the stay completely worthwhile. The room was quiet and the amenities in the room were perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jonathan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

View and room very nice.
More info on restaurant could have been in room & on-line as food only available until approx 8:30pm.
Early check in would have been nice - but didn't even check if room ready, at 3pm - stuck to 4pm check in.
Glacier view was fantastic
Information on building

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomaswB8878LG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Biggest issue is the facility is dirty. Everywhere. Second is they have a captive audience and have no desire to strive for customer service. The location is good between Banff and jasper and they should capitalize on it rather than making it bearable.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello Kelly M,

Thank you for your feedback on the Glacier View Inn.

Our rooms are fully cleaned, dusty and inspected daily. Our front desk and housekeeping team here at the Glacier View Inn do try their best to ensure that our guests have an exceptional customer service experience.

We are sorry if we didn't reach your expectation level.

Kind regards
Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Way over priced. Uncomfortable beds. Nice restaurant shown on website is buffet at $49 a person. Cafeteria closes at 6 pm so you are forced to eat at buffet. Our "mountain view" room overlooked trash cans and other equipment and machines ran off and on all night. We had a very bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank debbieb373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello Debbie,

Thank you for your feedback on the Glacier View Inn,

As our hotel is in a very unique spot we have a very competitive market but we do try to provide the best rates that we can. I am sorry that you felt you had an uncomfortable bed, we are currently looking to improve our rooms and we are improving them with new mattresses this season. The rooms facing the mountain are facing Mount Wilcox. Mount Wilcox is popular for hiking for a beautiful view of the Glacier. Also many animals including big horn sheep and mountain goats are often spotted on the mountain from the guests rooms. As for the equipment and machines can you please provide more information? We have had some construction done this season but these should not be operational in the evening.

I am truly sorry if you had a bad experience and I will look at improving any inconveniences so that future guests do not feel the same way

Kind regards
Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jasper National Park
91.9 km away
Tekarra Lodge
Tekarra Lodge
#12 of 22 in Jasper National Park
682 reviews
90.3 km away
Jasper House Bungalows
Jasper House Bungalows
#14 of 22 in Jasper National Park
441 reviews
45.3 km away
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lo...
#6 of 22 in Jasper National Park
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
119.4 km away
Pocahontas Cabins
Pocahontas Cabins
#5 of 33 in Jasper National Park
418 reviews
66.1 km away
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Hostel
HI Athabasca Falls Wilderness Ho...
#20 of 33 in Jasper National Park
46 reviews
35.3 km away
HI Rampart Creek Wilderness Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glacier View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glacier View Inn

Address: Highway #93 North | Icefields Parkway, Jasper National Park, Alberta T1L 1J3, Canada (Formerly Columbia Icefield Chalet)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Jasper National Park
Price Range: €75 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Glacier View Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glacier View Inn is located on the top floor of the Glacier Discovery Centre, and directly across the road from the spectacular Athabasca Glacier. Spacious rooms with basic amenities provide the ideal basecamp to rest up for your next mountain adventure. In the evenings, the pace of this popular location slows and allows guests to take in the magic of this epic setting. Join an exclusive Evenings on the Ice tour, dine in Altitude Restaurant overlooking the glacier, or stargaze on the outdoor deck. Altitude Restaurant is open daily with dinner service from 6 PM to 9 PM and breakfast from 7 AM to 10 AM. Please plan your travel accordingly to make sure dining options are available during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Glacier View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Glacier View Hotel Banff National Park
Glacier View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing