We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glacier View Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Crossing Resort(Banff National Park)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge(Jasper National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveller rating
105
211
156
91
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
211
156
91
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft roomhotel lobby isice fieldsky walkcolumbia icefieldstwo single bedsremote locationstayed one nightlittle priceycanadian rockiestoeexplorerremotenesscalgarysuitcasessofahighway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 610 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Biggest issue is the facility is dirty. Everywhere. Second is they have a captive audience and have no desire to strive for customer service. The location is good between Banff and jasper and they should capitalize on it rather than making it bearable.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello Kelly M,

Thank you for your feedback on the Glacier View Inn.

Our rooms are fully cleaned, dusty and inspected daily. Our front desk and housekeeping team here at the Glacier View Inn do try their best to ensure that our guests have an exceptional customer service experience.

We are sorry if we didn't reach your expectation level.

Kind regards
Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Way over priced. Uncomfortable beds. Nice restaurant shown on website is buffet at $49 a person. Cafeteria closes at 6 pm so you are forced to eat at buffet. Our "mountain view" room overlooked trash cans and other equipment and machines ran off and on all night. We had a very bad experience.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank debbieb373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello Debbie,

Thank you for your feedback on the Glacier View Inn,

As our hotel is in a very unique spot we have a very competitive market but we do try to provide the best rates that we can. I am sorry that you felt you had an uncomfortable bed, we are currently looking to improve our rooms and we are improving them with new mattresses this season. The rooms facing the mountain are facing Mount Wilcox. Mount Wilcox is popular for hiking for a beautiful view of the Glacier. Also many animals including big horn sheep and mountain goats are often spotted on the mountain from the guests rooms. As for the equipment and machines can you please provide more information? We have had some construction done this season but these should not be operational in the evening.

I am truly sorry if you had a bad experience and I will look at improving any inconveniences so that future guests do not feel the same way

Kind regards
Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We came from Calgary and met our family from Edmonton...it was a great meeting location. Overall a good experience signage could be a bit better to navigate the hotel. Good food and nice clean rooms with a spectacular view!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Insect68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

It is an awesome place but expensive. No proper markings of the parking and reception (between). The view from the window is great but arrived late to explore places. It will be recommended to stay more than a day. No air conditioning unit if is warm in the room, there is a fan though.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Parking for Hotel Guests should also be indicated on signs tour buses.

We parked on the lower level and lugged our baggage up the stairs through the crowded lobby, to the hard to find hotel lobby check-in located at the rear of the lobby. Once inside there are 2 desks neither well signed indicating one was for Hotel Guests to check-in and the other for Group Tours. Well of course I picked the wrong line to stand in for 10 minutes ... only to be told I was in the wrong line and had to switch to the line up for the other one. Very Frustrating especially after lugging the baggage. once checking in we were informed we could have parked in the upper level where you could roll your luggage over a bridge.

There were several noisy guests in the hall ... at various times during the night.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karolane D, Manager at The Glacier View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hello Karen,

I am sorry for your inconvenience of parking at the public parking and having to bring your luggage up the stairs however we do have Glacier View Inn Sign at the entrance to the guest parking. Our lobby is located on the ground floor separated from the guest services & tours I am sorry if you had trouble finding this. If you need help bringing your luggage over the foot bridge we do provide luggage carts or assistance as we have staff available for luggage pull. Our quiet time is 11pm and all guests are asked to sign our noise policy upon check in, Our front desk staff can deal with guests appropriately if notified of any disturbances.

I am sorry if the above problems had a negative effect on your experienced here

Kind regards
Karolane Delisle
Glacier View Inn Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews