We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sushi”
Review of Mikado

Mikado
Ranked #219 of 2,817 Restaurants in Edmonton
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Fresh and amazing sushi. Took a friend for her first time eating sushi and she loved it. Clean and friendly service

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank edmontonkain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Visited Mikado for lunch with two friends. We all decided to have a bento box. Everything was well prepared and the sashimi was very fresh. Food came promptly and the service was excellent. My friends enjoyed their green tea ice cream.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank GarthStanleyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

What should I say about Mikado! Reservation is recommended.

What I expect from a Japanese restaurant and much more. Staffs are skillful, professional and responsive. There are no problems in finding a parking space.

There are booths, Tatami rooms as well as a large sushi bar from having lunch to more formal/private dinner.

Let’s talk about food. I always go for the bento box for lunch. As for dinner, I tried 95% of the menu. Salad, BBQ squid, fresh oysters, tempura, chicken Kara-age, Beef/tuna Tataki, blue fin tuna, rolls, sushi, sashimi, Nigiri sushi, udon, grill fish and special promotion items. Fish is always fresh, tempura & kara-age is deep fried and never dried, fish & squid are perfectly grilled. No disappointments at all.

I definitely will go back for my lunch or dinner, for blue moment or for celebration, and for just because. I have to mention that it is a pleasure taking photos of the food.

Tip: promotion menu is for limited time. So go back quick if you like it.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lamb0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Very good food and environment. Food was just very expensive. For two of us it was $100. Would love to eat in one of the private rooms though!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank KaraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Good quality sushi. It's pricy. There are a number of places in Edmonton that give you the best sellers (basic tuna and salmon rolls, sashimi, tempura veg) for much less.

If you want a nice night out, with tampopo rooms, attentive service and nice twists on old favourites along with good breadth in available seafood, this restaurant works! My compliments to the team who put the menu together. Very flavorful and artful presentation.

Also - best Spinach Goma-ae I have ever had. The black sesame paste was amazing!!

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikado also viewed

 
Edmonton, Alberta
 

Been to Mikado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing