We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Expedia.com
US$206
US$137
View deal
SAVE US$69
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Booking.com
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Hotels.comUS$137
Trip.comUS$167
StayForLongUS$206
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,079)
Filter reviews
3,079 results
Traveller rating
1,629
883
326
156
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,629
883
326
156
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold floor the penthouse calgary tower train tracks beautiful hotel valet parking steam room stephen avenue heart of downtown visiting calgary calgary stampede lounge concierge doorman canada starbucks banff
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,079 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2021

This was our first opportunity to have a night away as a family since COVID began a year ago. We had planned to go to the Fairmont Palliser property for one night, but the rates were listed as $185 for the room we were interested in, and the website mentioned a promotion that detailed getting two nights for the price of one. We jumped at the chance and booked for two nights.

Upon arrival, we discovered that under that promotion, the rates for the same room that was advertised as $185 had actually been inflated to $400 per night. The desk told us that our second night was indeed free, but the cost of the first night was more than double what had been advertised on the website. After driving two hours to arrive late that evening, and with a 1 year old child in tow and parking already paid for, we felt like we had no choice but to book in with the room. We assumed that we would be able to discuss this with the desk tomorrow and the situation would be rectified. We were wrong.

We ordered dinner from the Hawthorne that night. The food was cold and disappointing, which surprised us since Fairmont restaurants are usually very good. In the morning, we used the coffee maker in the room but the coffee tasted very old and stale. There was also no milk or creamer of any kind provided in the bar fridge.

The people at the front desk acknowledged that the promotion of buy one night, get one free was misleading and that if we booked the exact same room on that day, it would cost approximately $185. Still, they refused to do anything about this. The extra $200 that we had to pay for the room significantly reduced our ability to partake in activities around the city.

When I called the hotel before arrival to ask about parking, we were directed to a garage attached to the hotel. For reasons that were never explained by anyone, we were ultimately charged for 4 days of parking despite only staying for 2. When I asked the hotel about this, they said that the parking lot was not owned by them and that I had to call the company that managed it. Needless to say, this went nowhere and our parking costs ended up being nearly $120.....

Overall, we found the staff to be rude and completely unable or unwilling to provide us with any of the service and hospitality that one thinks of when going to Fairmont hotels. We will not be returning, and I will advise friends and family to avoid this hotel on future trips.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank matthurley1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021

We had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Palliser this past weekend. We were suppose to celebrate our 10 year anniversary in January. However, due to covid, restaurants and the spa were closed. The Fairmont let us book another date with no issues. Our room was so comfortable and well appointed. Even got a nice sunset the first night. We had drinks in the Hawthorn Bar and dinner on Valentines day in the dining room. The staff were very accommodating and helpful in planning our staycation. Thank you all for a wonderful getaway. Finished it off with a couples massage at the RnR Wellness spa.

Room tip: Avoid the south side of the building if noise keeps you awake. They trains are always running down below.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincanada7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021

Great spot to enjoy a day wandering the city and for an evening downtown. Covid protocols were excellent and everyone coming and going was monitored. The room service menu was limited but delicious. Staff was very attentive. The hotel was not very busy but we felt very well taken care of.

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank marycomeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2021

Overall pleasant stay, other than room temperature which required wearing a coat in room. Finally had it fixed after freezing for two days. Hotel not aware of free room offer on web site.
New loyalty program is confusing and not as generous/flexible as old plan. No more free nights, hotel credit dollars or room upgrades. So not really a loyalty program. This has removed all incentive to book exclusively with Fairmont.

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank jknow2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel Ross, General Manager at Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairmont Palliser. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry to hear of your heating challenges, we work hard to maintain the best possible temperature.

I know the new Accor loyalty program is a big change from the previous one. There are some amazing benefits that can be used that are unique to our industry. I am hopeful you will give us another chance and come back soon to visit again. Stay Safe Samuel R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2021

Beautiful hotel near downtown Calgary near a mall and stores. We booked a standard King room- it was spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly, professional and accommodating. The hotel and other areas well maintained and still elegant. Had a wonderful and relaxing stay. They follow safety protocols.. sadly not a lot open. Only Starbucks open for pick up and Hawthorne dining room available for room service. The dinner we had was delicious & beautifully prepared.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marites8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samuel Ross, General Manager at Fairmont Palliser, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Thank you so much for staying at the Fairmont Palliser. We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back soon to visit again. Stay Safe Samuel R.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews