We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic Customer Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Calgary

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Calgary
Ranked #19 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Fantastic Customer Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times now, most recently this past weekend for the Calgary International Salsa Congress. From the minute we stepped out of our vehicle, the service was friendly and impeccable. The person helping us unload our vehicle was prompt. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. There was courtesy cucumber and mint water which was a perfect touch and refreshing drink after a long car ride. Also, free popcorn! My friend and I were waiting with our unloaded gear in the lobby for our friend to finish up with the front desk, and while waiting, we were approached by the front office manager, Shahzad, who was super friendly and joking around with us. He even "bought" us a drink in the form of a complimentary "Battle of the Belvederes" drink card for the hotel lounge. Nice touch! (The drink was delicious by the way!). He told us he's been working on making the front entrance area friendly and inviting and I would agree that he's doing a fantastic job. Luis, who's another friendly soul with a great smile, helped us get our bags and gear to our rooms is another great asset to the Hyatt team.

My friends and I went down to the Salsa congress to dj and host the after parties. The hotel staff knew this beforehand, and knew there'd be partying until the early morning with music pumping out of our room. Despite this, they graciously situated us on the appropriate floor with the best party-appropriate room - the boardroom suite with adjoining bedroom, and we couldn't have asked for anything better. I mean who does this?! That was awesome in of itself.

All in all I would highly recommend staying at this hotel because not only is it clean and well-situated, more importantly, the staff are super friendly, helpful and inviting. Thank you for yet another great visit and i'm sure i can say on behalf of my friends and I we look forward to catching up again next year ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeydrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear honeydrop,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay with us. I was particularly happy to hear you had such a great service experience, specifically with Shahzad and Luis. I will be sure to share your comments with them, as well as the rest of our associates.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    667
    391
    129
    40
    16
See reviews for
213
298
59
516
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

this Hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and the staff was very courteous. the restaurants and Bars were top notch calibur.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear mike k,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience with our staff, and that you felt our restaurant and bar were such high quality. I will be sure to share these comments with our associates. Please come back and see us again soon!

Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just went to Calgary on a business trip and stayed at the Hyatt. I was surprised by the very high hotel rates at all the Calgary hotels. Although rates are high, the hotel offers nice accommodations, has a great restaurant attached (Catch), Stillwater spa (book ahead of time), and is steps away from many great restaurants ans shopping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeSawIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just got back from a weekend stay there. Loved every minute of it. We got an e-upgrade option when booking online with Hyatt. We upgraded to a club level room. Great choice on our part. It gives you access to the club lounge. They have daily deluxe continental breakfast. Evening finger foods and desserts. Complimentary soda and non-alcoholic drinks. There is also an honor bar. The service was amazing. Everybody was great to deal with. Check-in was a breeze. I was ready to go to my room within 2 or 3 minutes. Our room was clean and modern looking with a nice city view. The bed was comfortable. The location is excellent. Right outside the front door around the corner to the right is the C Train. Also only a 2 or 3 minute walk to the Calgary Tower. Lots of good restaurants within close proximity. Parking is a little pricy considering they charge the public the same rate as paying guests. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for your next stay. Especially if you can get a deal on it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club level if you can. You get a higher floor room if available and access to the club lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear swazer,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I was particularly happy to hear that you had great success with our eStandby upgrade option and that you enjoyed the Regency Club lounge so much. I will be sure to share these outstanding comments with all our associates. I hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice. Once on business and most recently on the Easter Weekend. Upon check-in we received vouchers for complimentary cocktails and a special parking rate. The room was spacious with a super comfortable bed. This is a either a new or newly renovated hotel. We had a great bite to eat and glass of wine in the lounge. The hotel is in a great location , within walking distance to many good restaurants and lounges. This hotel gets full marks from me.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurorof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementHRC, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Calgary, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear auroraof5,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to hear that you have had great experiences with us on two separate occasions. I have shared your comments with our associates as they really enjoy hearing great stories like this one.

Our hotel opened 11 years ago, but we have done several phases of renovations over the past few years to upgrade the property. Please come back and see us again at the end of summer to see our new lobby!

Sincerely,
Herb Rackliff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Calgary
#24 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Calgary

Property: Hyatt Regency Calgary
Address: Hyatt Regency Calgary 700 Centre St SE, Calgary, Alberta T2G 5P6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calgary
#5 Luxury Hotel in Calgary
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#8 Business Hotel in Calgary
#9 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Calgary 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Calgary offers world-class service, elegant surroundings and unsurpassed modern convenience. At the corner of Stephen Avenue Walk, a popular pedestrian street filled with restaurants, pubs, shops, theatre and entertainment venues, we are also connected to the Convention Centre. Nestled in one of the city's historic sandstone buildings, the hotel showcases the region's heritage, while embracing a contemporary, western feel that embraces Calgary's cosmopolitan personality. Not only is Hyatt Regency Calgary structurally stunning, it also captures the spirit of the surrounding landscapes with +500 collections of original western paintings and sculptures created by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Calgary Hotel Calgary
Hyatt Calgary
Calgary Hyatt Regency

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing