We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid until this aging facility is renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Avoid until this aging facility is renovated”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This downtown facility was completely misrepresented by its management. The staff tried to be helpful but the rooms were old and badly in need of renovation. Beds sagged and carpet was very worn and dirty. Price clearly reflected the downtown location but nothing else lived up to their sales pitch.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztraveler05340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    57
    35
    7
    8
See reviews for
20
37
13
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
395 reviews
255 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Downtown location, free parking onsite. Nice suites, great staff. Located right on the free C-Train line. Not a great neighbourhood. - 6/10

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank bensagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
281 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Warm and genuine welcome from the front desk staff. Check in was quick and the guy on the desk was very helpful. Because I am an IHG member, my room requests were on file and although this is a non-smoking hotel, I was given a room with a balcony - fab!

The room - large and spacious, with a sitting area and kitchenette - in good decorative order with a very big, comfy bed. Good blackout blinds, huge flat screen, fridge and microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom was a very good size, shower over the half tub, lots of towels. Only downside was no in room safe.

Location - within downtown and a short ride on the free tram from just behind the hotel. Easy to get everywhere. There's a big supermarket three blocks away.

Nice touches - complimentary continental breakfast with cooked options as well - great coffee! Not very eco friendly as all the plates cutlery etc were disposable.

Overall this was a great place to stay at a really good rate and better than I expected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryanythingonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

I was here for an overnight business trip and it satisfied all of my needs. It isn't luxurious but was clean and well appointed. The breakfast was lacking and could be improved.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenkarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Liked the location, free parking and free Internet.

Somewhat noisy due to construction work, and we went a full day without water (meaning no showers or restroom activities...) without being offered any refund for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEX, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Calgary, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your past stay with us. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered however we did ensure to call all arriving guests to advise that the City of Calgary was shutting off the water at no option to the hotel. We did this so guests could choose to stay at an alternate location as we had already discounted our rates that weekend. I hope that you will advise me if you are ever returning to Calgary as we would like to have you stay again with us to make it right for you. Many thanks, Sherry Blake, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Calgary Downtown
Beltline
Nuvo Hotel Suites
Nuvo Hotel Suites
#79 of 109 in Calgary
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Calgary

Property: Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Address: 1020 8 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2P 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Calgary Downtown. We are a newly renovated hotel (complete in Spring 2016). We offer complimentary hot buffet breakfast, parking and WiFi. We offer a variety of rooms including King, King Executive, King Jacuzzi, Two Queen, One Queen Accessible and our large Penthouse located on the 10th floor. We also offer a 24 hour business centre and fitness centre. Our staff work hard to make sure that you are always taken care of and that you feel you are home away from home. We are located just west of the downtown core, close to Stephen Avenue Mall, the CORE shopping complex, trendy 17th avenue district and only one block away from Calgary's Light Rail Transit system (where travelling downtown is complimentary). We are also located very close to many corporate offices as well as many leisure activities. Families love our hotel for the clean, modern atmosphere as well as being so close to many family friendly activities. Don't forget our free hot buffet breakfast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing