We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Calgary University
Ranked #63 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed for Comic Expo, they let us check in nearly 3 hours early (I was amazed, we figured we could just ask them to watch our bags until we got back that night) and watched our bags on Sunday after we checked out. Definitely worth the price (100$/night if you book online), flat screen TV was nice to have as was the free wifi, even if it wasn't super-fast. It's right by the Banff Trail station for the C-Train which was perfect for our needs. Breakfast wasn't too bad, there was a decent selection of bagels and muffins, with a self-serve waffle station. The room was a lot larger than I expected, and had a fair-sized desk and some chairs. Only problems we had were figuring out there was a second layer of curtains to totally block out light, and the sound from the train, which when we saw where the train station was made complete sense to us.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with the world during your recent stay. We greatly value your compliments on our amenities and also our superior customer service. At the Travelodge Calgary University, we do not only meet our guest's expectations but also exceed them.

The second blackout layer of curtains could be tricky sometimes especially if you are use to single curtain in a room. The train sometimes could be a deterrent (noise-wise) but majority of our guests believe its benefits outweigh its cons. Some guests specifically request rooms facing the train and others do not.

Comments such as yours would motivate us to continue providing; service quality, clean rooms, and the right amenities for our valuable guests. We appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    159
    92
    37
    22
See reviews for
136
93
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NW Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 420 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had to spend six nights near the Foothills Hospital on the spur of a moment. Chose the Travelodge as it's very close and was very reasonably priced. The hotel charged only $89.00 for a double room when you are staying due to medical reasons. That was a great rate for the quality of hotel!!!

I would have ranked the hotel better and in fact it is better than average, however the last night was disappointing. We had a 3rd floor room which was very quiet for 5 nights..........night 6 saw a group come into the next door room at midnight and they partied loudly all night to 7:30 AM. Numerous persons complained and management did attend and and had them quiet down at 3:00 AM. That lasted 15 minutes, then it continued and caused all 4 of us a sleepless night.

The manager the next AM was not pleased that the noise was allowed to continue and said that night staff were to lenient.He checked and noted the 4 complaints. He advised that they usually give only one warning and then evict but it never happened. They did evict them that AM as they were booked to stay a second night. To the credit of the hotel, they did credit me for the night with no fuss and that was appreciated. It was unfortunate that the ignorant partiers were not evicted at 3:00 AM however.

Other than that, our stay was fine, rooms were plain but very clean and maintained. had a microwave and mini fridge in the room which was nice.There is a daily breakfast area that is serviced by a staff member and it is very good for the rate.Good selection including waffle machines. They provide daily newspapers free of charge and there is lots of parking for all sizes of vehicles. There are numerous restaurants within close walking distance including, Phils, Boston Pizza, Denny's, McDonalds and DQueen. The location was excellent with only a two minute drive to hospital parking and less than 5 minutes to malls and shopping north on Crowchild Trail.

All in all a good place to stay for the price. I would stay here again but really wished security would have evicted the rowdy's and allowed us to get some sleep on the last night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamboNWAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to thoroughly share your experience at the Travelodge Calgary University.

We had an emergency staff meeting and we have reinforced our zero tolerance noise policy. At the Travelodge Calgary university, we do not only meet our guest's expectations but also strive to exceed them.

We appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storthoaks SK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We found this a very well located hotel with the light-rail transit very close to the hotel.It is very clean and well kept with a continental breakfast included making it a very economical choice.The room was large and well furnished.The staff are very friendly and accomadating.We would definately stay again and would not hesitate to reccomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billandlynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We appreciate your effort on sharing your experience with the world. We greatly value your compliments on our amenities and also our superior customer service. At the Travelodge Calgary university, we do not only meet our guest's expectations but also exceed them.

Comments such as yours would motivate us to continue providing; service quality, clean rooms, and the right amenities for our valuable guests. We appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here because of its proximity to Foothills Hospital. Good access from 16 Ave, lots of parking. Basic room w/ king bed was clean and surprisingly large. Hotel was reasonably quiet, desk staff friendly. Was disappointed in the selection at breakfast, but there are plenty of places to eat nearby. Would recommend for up to a couple of nights' stay if access to U of C or hospital needed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extradenticle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, General Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the world. We greatly value your comments on our hotel amenities.

Even though we provide a good variety of choices on our breakfast bar, we welcome guest's suggestion on any extra additions.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this further. We appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had to spend Christmas 2011 at a Hotel in Calgary until we found an apartment to rent. The Daily Breakfast included; fresh hot waffles that you can make yourself, fresh bananas, oranges and apples, yogurt, milk, cereal, toast, bagels of different varieties, jams, honey, peanut butter, orange juice, apple juice, pastries, croissants, Wow! I had fresh hot waffles topped with bananas and oranges and delicious maple syrup! If the breakfast doesn't wow you, the front desk clerk that we had spoke Spanish and she was just awesome with her generosity of superior customer service, offering us extensions on our check out time. Now that you are finished breakfast and have gone shopping at the local North Hill Shopping Centre..come back to your hotel and walk next door to Denny's Restaurant, Show your room key and you receive 15 percent off all of your meals!! Excellent staff, we always had a clean room and the view that we wanted. We have stayed in luxury hotels but I must say, this hotel didn't have the luxury but it had the most important qualities of a Home Away From Home, with plenty of good food too!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the view before you book your room, some rooms face the parking lot, others fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TlodgeUnv, Manager at Travelodge Calgary University, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the world. We greatly value your compliments on our continental breakfast and also our superior customer service. At the Travelodge Calgary university, we do not only meet our guest's expectations but also exceed them.

Comments such as yours would not only cheer our team up but also encourage us to continue providing; service quality, clean rooms, and the right amenities for our valuable guests. We appreciate your business and welcome the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,
Kobbie Larbi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#93 of 109 in Calgary
183 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
670 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Aloft Calgary University
Aloft Calgary University
#41 of 109 in Calgary
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Calgary University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Calgary University

Property: Travelodge Calgary University
Address: 2227 Banff Trail NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 4L2, Canada (Formerly "Holiday Inn Express")
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Calgary University 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Calgary University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Calgary University Hotel Calgary
Travel Lodge Calgary
Calgary Travel Lodge
Calgary Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing