We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay for World Junior Hockey!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Red Deer
Level Contributor
198 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Stay for World Junior Hockey!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We used this hotel as our base while attending the World Junior Hockey tournament early in January. We had an excellent stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were large and clean, and our kids really enjoyed the pool area. There are many restaurants nearby and it is quite handy to the C-Train. I would stay here again any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CentralABFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    76
    24
    18
    28
See reviews for
70
53
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our sports team stayed here Jan 20-22, 2012. We were all very pleased with the size of the rooms, cleanliness of rooms and common areas, complimentary breakfast which included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, cereal, pancakes, juice, yogurt, fruit. Certainly helps on the cost of a tournament when at least one meal is covered. There was also a good selection of family oriented restaurants in the area and we were close to some very good shopping.
Beds were comfortable and the hotel was very quiet despite all the kids there during our stay. Overall we felt the hotel was a good choice for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mannfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed over-night here based on a crap shoot as we didn't know the layout of the city but knew we'd pass through on our way west. We found it in a nice area of town located near some main arteries. The staff were friendly and the pool/slide/hot tub were all in regular working order. The hours of the pool area are better than normal too. The morning breakfast was great as usual for an HI Exp. One small complaint was that the wife thought there was a vomit smell somewhere near her pillow. I never got a whiff. We mentioned it to staff in the morning and they said they would advised cleaning staff. (We're a family of 6)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We chose this hotel primarily for the pool. Since we arrived the pool has been freezing cold, even too cold for the kids to swim in, and the hot tub is the temperature the cold pool should be. On the Sunday night of the long weekend, the staff told me that they had started heating the pool 2 hours earlier so it would take a while to warm up. A little late to start heating the pool?! The breakfast was fairly good, but if you want cinnamon rolls or bacon, better be downstairs early. It says breakfast is served until 9:30, but if you come after 9 be prepared for a limited selection. On a more positive note, we were upgraded to a larger suite and the staff have been friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muzykpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great location in south Calgary, with both smoking, and non smoking rooms. Check in was quick, and efficient and the room was large and clean. Better than average breakfast with my favorite litte cinnamon buns.

Room Tip: Priority Club Number, it's free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank v98roadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Stetson Village Inn
Stetson Village Inn
#83 of 109 in Calgary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Delta Calgary South Hotel
Delta Calgary South Hotel
#41 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Address: 12025 Lake Fraser Dr, Calgary, Alberta T2J 7G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy A Smart Stay At This Calgary, Alberta Hotel Both leisure and business travelers will benefit from the prime location and amenities found at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in South Calgary. Our hotel's location is 30 km from the Calgary International Airport (YYC) and .05 km from the C-Train at Canyon Meadows Station. From the 24-hour fitness centre with elliptical trainer, treadmill and life cycle to the indoor pool with a water slide and a hot tub to the complimentary hot breakfast with warm cinnamon rolls, bacon, sausage, cheddar cheese omelets, yogurt, juice and coffee, we go beyond other hotels in Calgary to give you the amenities you need. Each room features cable TV, a microwave, a refrigerator, a workspace with two phones and free high-speed Internet access. You'll enjoy being in close proximity to Heritage Park, Spruce Meadows Equestrian Park and the major attractions throughout Calgary, Alberta. Our hotel is just a shopping trip away from SouthCentre Mall or Chinatown, and we're a short drive from outdoor fun at the Calgary Zoo, Canada Olympic Park or the world-renowned Calgary Stampede. Lodging here puts business travelers within minutes of Daimler Chrysler, Agrium, Earth Tech, Graham Construction, Reimer Express Lines, Fluor Daniel and other major businesses in South Calgary. Our hotel's amenities include a meeting room and a 24-hour business centre with copy, fax and print services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Calgary South
Holiday Inn Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing