We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful view, traditional fairmont ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“beautiful view, traditional fairmont ambience”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Lake louise is a premier destination in the world for its natural beauty. The chateau for the most part lives up to this. The views of the lake are excellent. The serenity on the ski trails is ideal. The chateau decorates its surroundings with ice sculpture and creates a real sense of occasion. One certainly pays a premium for this service, but that's where you are. At times, the service can be stretched when the tourist volume is high. Unfortunately, it is difficult for the chateau to be 'cozy'. Nonetheless, most visitors will be pleased

Room Tip: the lake view rooms are a premium but are worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,036
    1,383
    561
    255
    113
See reviews for
1,592
3,264
175
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,025)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

What made Chateau Lake Louise special for me was they way they have refined casual elegance, taking it to the level of art! The days we spent here were fabulous, leaving our spectacular lake front room was something of a challenge, but the walk to the end of the lake was worth it! One day we decided to drive to Banff, but literally within minutes of arriving we turned around and went 'home'! It's important to dress up a little bit for the main dining room, but even then ties are not manditory; having lived many years in Luzern, Switzerland, we found the Walliser Stube much more to our style! In both, the food and service were wonderful! And while shopping is seldom on our list of things to do, all of the shops were full of 'eye candy', making window shopping fun, with a couple of temptations turning into necessities! We both look forward to returning!

Room Tip: If it is at all within reason, definitely splurge on a lake front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynnclaire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Fairmont Lake Lousie with a group of approx. 20 for the pond hockey tournament. We go every February, and it is always a fantastic, relaxing weekend get away.

Our room was spacious & clean with a great view. The bathroom was a nice size with a jacuzzi tub and separate shower.

Food was great, and overall the service was great. The only downfall was that we had called to ask them to come up and clean our room and no one showed up.

Overall good experience!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justbeachy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FCLL, Executive Assistant to the General Manager at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Pond Hockey is a Lake Louise classic, and we can't wait for you to visit again next year.
Please note that I shared your comments concerning your guest room with our Housekeeping team so we can ensure it doesn't happen again.

Warm Regards,
Lisa Riches
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

this was my third time visiting the Chateau, but the first time staying there. It is a very majestic place to stay and we enjoyed every moment.

Reason for Stay: Rocky Mountain Ski trip. 2 days of skiing @ Lake Louise
Length of Stay: 2 nights
Room: Junior Suite Lake View (Room 683)
Comments on Room: Stunning views of the Lake/Mountains. Very comfortable Bed, with fluffy pillows. Large LCD TV. Beautiful bathroom with glass shower and Seperate Jacuzzi Tub. Sitting area with 2 wing chairs and pull out couch

Hotel is an amazing place with so many unique features and outstanding dining options.
Stay with confidence, but I will suggest you make dinner reservations as walk-ins are not usually taken outside of the saloon.

Room Tip: Lake View rooms offer a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel81king
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

What sort of hotel with hundreds of rooms won't let you check in before 4:00pm? You drive hours to get there through driving snow but they won't give you a room. You go to get a coffee while you wait but unless you order a full lunch at 3:00pm, you can't even sit in the lounge. Staff were rude, unhelpful and not even vaguely apologetic. Overpriced and overrated.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Flyfisher1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
0.6 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,636 reviews
2.9 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
1,323 reviews
2.8 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
706 reviews
12.8 km away
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
Baker Creek Mountain Resort
#3 of 10 in Lake Louise
815 reviews
10.3 km away
Moraine Lake Lodge
Moraine Lake Lodge
#2 of 10 in Lake Louise
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise

Property: Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
Address: 111 Lake Louise Drive, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by some of the most breathtaking scenery in the world, the iconic Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise resort is nestled deep within Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Enveloped by soaring mountain peaks, the majestic Victoria Glacier and a glistening emerald lake, the natural beauty of this destination permeates every nook of the historic resort - originally built as a base for outdoor enthusiasts and alpinists. The Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise is a year-round luxury resort which specializes in offering extensive Guided Mountain Heritage programs, unparalleled skiing in the winter, exceptional food and beverage experiences and a new spa, The Spa at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel Lake Louise
Chateau Lake Louise
Fairmont Lake Louise
Lake Louise Fairmont
Fairmont Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing