We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skoki Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Louise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Skoki Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Few people get to see the Canadian Rockies the way you do when you ski into Skoki Lodge. The trek in is stunning. Challenging, but doable. I was caught in a brief white-out on Deception Pass on the way out and retreated back toward the Lodge until visibility improved. If Mother Nature unleashes her wrath while you are in the "elements," wait it out or retreat.

Leo and Katie are welcoming. They come with dogs and kids which makes them warm and friendly. The food is seriously top notch. The lack of water and electricity is a very small inconvenience for the rewards and priviledge of getting to and staying at Skoki Lodge, which is a National Historic Site.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
King Kirkland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I stayed one night at Skoki on March 20th. It is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, mind you it is a bit rustic so if you need running water and electricity it may not be for you. If you can rough it a little it is totally worth your time. The hosts Leo and Katie were fantastic. Katie cooked what I must say is a five star dinner. The boys that worked at Skoki were excellent as well. I unfortunately cannot remember there names.

A warning the ski in to Skoki was quite demanding and not for the faint of heart. However it is totally worth it. I only wished I had stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Melian5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

If you want to see the real Canadian wilderness, put on your back country skis and go to Skoki Lodge. You will see spectacular scenery and get a great workout skiing over Deception Pass. The downhill to the lodge is quite enjoyable. The lodge offers relatively comfortable lodging, but it does not have electricity or running water. I found it did not offer some of the amenities offered at other backcountry lodges such as guides, soft fluffy comforters, and warm water delivered to your door. The folks at the lodge did offer maps and supplied a lovely afternoon tea. This was quite welcome after the winds and snows were encountered on our journey.

Room Tip: The private cabins are a more quite option than the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We spent 2 nights at Skoki and it is very scenic. The Lodge has excellent food and very helpful, friendly staff. We stayed in the Riverside Cabin and it was extremely comfortable. The skiing was great and the trail up is well marked. The staff were great at suggesting areas to ski in and had maps that were helpful. We will definitely go back to hike in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Alpine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

While I draw the line at sleeping in snow caves, I've had my fair share of experiences in backcountry huts. Skoki Lodge is luxurious in comparison. While it's still outhouse country, catered food, heated cabins, down duvets (heck--beds!), and wine/beer for purchase (no need to pack it in) all make for a lovely backcountry experience.

The hut is an 11km ski/snowshoe in from the Lake Louise ski area, which makes it long enough to be a challenge but short enough to be accessible to most fit individuals. The trail is well-travelled and on safe terrain. We arrived during the holiday season and did not anticipate the traffic going into the Lake Louise ski area so missed our check-in time of 9:30 am. However, the ski in only took us 3.5 hours, without any breaks (we hit howling wind after the first pass) so we got there with plenty of daylight to spare. Would definitely recommend going into the ski area a little early though, if only to get better parking closer to your start location. The start of the trail is also in the middle of the ski area, and it took us close to an hour just to get the trailhead, which we didn't realize.

Katie, Leo, and their staff were incredibly welcoming and accommodating, providing great advice on skiable terrain in the area, and their two dogs (Bill and Lucy) and two children were a hoot. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite", which provided us with our own cabin away from the main lodge. We only booked it because that was the last available space, and would have been happy to stay in the lodge as the rooms all seemed great.

Food was included, and you definitely didn't go hungry, even with all the big eaters in the place (you burn a lot of energy skiing). Hot breakfast, a do-it-yourself sandwich-making lunch buffet, soup and appies at the end of your skiing, and multiple course dinner. Wine and beer could be purchased which made for light packs on the way in (no sleeping bags helped that cause as well).

Was it rustic? Yes. Don't expect 5-star luxury here. But delicious catered food and down duvets are pretty luxurious out here. And the rustic nature of the place is half the ambiance.

Interesting factoid: William and Kate stayed here on their short visit to Canada, and Skoki had a temporary bathroom flown in specially for them. No, they did not hike in. But you should.

Room Tip: Cabins can be rented at good rates if you have multiple people and want to keep to your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank earai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake Louise hotels
2.2 km away
Mountaineer Lodge
Mountaineer Lodge
#3 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
2.2 km away
Post Hotel & Spa
Post Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.3 km away
Deer Lodge
Deer Lodge
#5 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise
2.1 km away
Lake Louise Inn
Lake Louise Inn
#4 of 5 in Lake Louise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
3.8 km away
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
Paradise Lodge & Bungalows
#1 of 10 in Lake Louise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skoki Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skoki Lodge

Property: Skoki Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 5, Lake Louise, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Lake Louise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lake Louise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skoki Lodge is situated in a beautiful high alpine region in Banff National Park. The eleven kilometer trail from Lake Louise to the Skoki Valley makes Skoki Lodge an ideal destination for hikers and skiers of all levels. From Skoki Lodge one can access breathtaking mountain ridges and alpine lakes, or explore five different adjoining valleys. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skoki Hotel Lake Louise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing