We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,029)
Filter reviews
2,029 results
Traveller rating
360
538
446
340
345
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
538
446
340
345
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub on the roof short walk to lake lots of character its charm rustic hotel few minutes walk sitting room hiking trails canadian rockies lodge caribou mountains chateau fireplace elk skiing snow
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 2,029 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2018

I had booked this hotel for my husband and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary. I haad read many varied reviews on Trip advisor about this place, but I kept an open mind, remembering that this is an old hotel and not part of a modern chain. We had booked a deluxe King room and we had lovely views across to the mountains. The bathroom toiletries were L'Occitane. The room was big and spacious. There was no TV, but that really was not a problem. however, there was no fridge or kettle and that was a bit inconvenient. There was ample coffee available from 7 - 11am in the morning. Staff were really friendly and helpful and we had a good meal in the dining room. This hotel is full of old fashoined charm and that is it beauty.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dippy_sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for such a glowing review! We are delighted to have been able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed the special ambiance at Deer Lodge. Thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion, and we hope to host you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

The deer lodge hotel is a great hotel; quite rustic but it has a lot of charm. It would fall in a love or hate kind-of perspective! You either love the hotel or completely hate it.

The rooms are comfortable although during the winter, the heat was intense! We had our balcony door open pretty much the entire weekend and the thermostat was turned down to the lowest possible setting.

The food at the restaurant is delicious and is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BarkShadeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to understand what we do well and what we can improve on. We will be sure to have our Maintenance Team check on the heating to ensure all of our guests experience comfortable stays with us. We very much hope to accommodate you again soon. Thanks for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Service was super. Staff friendly. Location and view was incredible. The outdoor hot tub is great. Old style rooms are nice. Staying at the Deer Lodge should be on everyone' s bucket list. Thanks David

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dlawler180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Greetings,

Wow, thank you for such a kind note! It's very much appreciated that you feel our lodge is special enough to be included on a bucket list of places to visit. We are so glad you enjoyed the ambiance as well as the amenities, and we hope to host you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

We stayed for a night here on our road trip through the rockies. The hotel is quite old and therefore is a little dated in some places, but it kind of adds to the character. We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was nice and comfortable and the place was really nice and peaceful.
The real hidden gem here though was the outdoor hot tub. Its on the roof terrace with spectacular views of the mountains surrounding the place, it really made the place special. We found the hotel really nice overall.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lyndsey_B18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for leaving a review of your visit with us! We appreciate your taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay, and we are so pleased you got to enjoy the amenities that the lodge has to offer. We hope to see you again very soon, perhaps in the warmer months to come! Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a heritage room and loved our stay. Our room was smart, clean and comfortable. Deer Lodge has a great location tucked away in the forest close to Lake Louise but away from the noise of the Fairmont Resort. We used most of the available facilities - hot tub, dining room, laundry - and all were perfectly fine.
Our stay was booked through a travel agent, and when I read the terrible reviews from earlier this year I tried to cancel. This was not successful and I am so glad it turned out this way. Yes, the main building is old and has lots of character. If your preference is for something brand spanking new with all the mod cons this place may not be for you. But if you don't mind a bit of quirkiness (which includes no TV in the bedrooms) then Deer Lodge is great.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caitlyn M, Guest Relations Team at Deer Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a note about your stay with us. We very much enjoyed reading your review and appreciate your five star rating! We are pleased you enjoyed the special ambiance and serenity that Deer Lodge offers, and we very much hope to see you again soon in beautiful Lake Louise! Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews