We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak Restaurant ”
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
Ranked #32 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Booking was 'unusual' as would not accept a booking for party of 3! Not sure what that was about? Anyway we dined as walk ins instead. Service was good and the waiter was helpful and charismatic. The food is excellent. Def for those that like steaks and red meat dishes!

Thank Carlottiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that we were able to accommodate your walk in party of 3 and you enjoyed the service and the food! To be able to accommodate parties that walk in, we do not accept reservations in our lounge and restrict reservations to a specific amount in our dining room. We believe in not being a reservation only restaurant to accept walk in business as well given the popularity of our operation. Please do join us again on your next visit to Banff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Locals highly recommended Saltlik and we were not disappointed! I’m very picky as I’m quite the good cook, the steak & scallop potatoes were to die for lol sorry for the drama but I travel across Canada & appreciate a good home cooked meal on the road!

Thank ccyrette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for taking the recommendation you were given to choose Saltlik on your last night in Banff. Many of our guests who visit us early during their stay will return again and again while they are in town, we wish you would have joined us earlier in your trip! It is always nice to hear positive comments from those who have a high standard for food - your comments are very kind. We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Saltlik is a special place, serving exceptional food.
There is an atmosphere that makes you feel relaxed and warm. Staff are helpful and knowledgable about the menu and wines.
Food is beautiful cooked and served.
One of the top restaurants in Banff.

Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Your review is very complimentary! We thank you for it! We at Saltlik understand the value of knowledgeable service in order to provide educated recommendations based on our individual guest preferences and needs. We are happy to know you found the value in the high level of service we provide and the quality of the food our talented chefs prepare!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

I was there for dinner, I asked for well done steak and it came raw, I asked the waiter to cook it more for me and she took back my steak to the kitchen, there was a considerable time gap until I got my steak back. It was burned a little bit, I did not enjoy the saltlik in Banff however I love Saltlik in Calgary

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tannaz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

We are sorry to hear that your experience with our Banff location was not up to expectation during your recent visit. We do strive to get things right the first time with each and every order we prepare. We do hope you give us another opportunity the next time you are in Banff as this is very out of the ordinary for our restaurant. Thank you for your candid review, your feedback will be shared with our teams as we consistently communicate such concerns to improve our processes and provide the utmost excellence in atmosphere, service and food for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Excellent steak house, recommended by the staff at the hotel!!!
Wonderful meal- delicious meat
And sides, oh least not forget the wine and beer.
Excellent, excellent and the service just fantastic!!! We had the pleasure of being served by an amazing guy from New Zealand, very chatty and making the evening very comfortable, new his meals and his drinks!!

Thanks again

Thank nanasantaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltlikbanff, General Manager at Saltlik, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

That amazing guy was Brent! He is just phenomenal with his extensive knowledge of all our products. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing