We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 years ago Great. ..still Great”

Block Kitchen and Bar
Ranked #2 of 158 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Banff's newest hot spot bringing a menu of hearty rustic sandwiches for lunch and tapas for evening with a paired wine list and progressive cocktail menu.
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

3 years ago I went to the Block....it was the best restaurant in Banff....on my 60th this year (2018) I returned...it is still the best restaurant in Banff. ...A great fusion of taste, friendly service and great ambience. ..really worth a visit

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane P, Owner at Block Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear Philip H,

Thank you so much for coming back to eat with us again on a very special occasion! We sincerely appreciate the kind comments and wish you many happy returns. Including some at Block!

All the best!


Stéphane Prévost
Chef/Co-owner
Block Kitchen + Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

180 - 184 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

Good food, not amazing. Honestly, they’re trying a little to hard with the food. Food was over seasoned and overpriced. Drinks were a little over priced, even for banff. Servers were mediocre at best and couldn’t be bothered to explain the specials or what was in them. Very cute place, just a little disappointing.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Kris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephane P, Owner at Block Kitchen and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Hi Kris,

Thanks for your review. We're truly sorry that you didn't care for our cute little place. Honestly, our food is quite simple and unpretentious. We do try hard everyday to keep it consistent and we are confident that it is on point with flavours. (See previous reviews). As for being overpriced, I think that if you took the time to try other establishments in town who serve comparable food and drinks, you would find that our prices are quite competitive and in some cases even more affordable. As for your harsh comments on our service team, we are quite surprised that you could not find one good thing to write about it. We will nevertheless take your comments in consideration to help us move forward.

Best of luck with your next culinary adventures.

Stéphane Prévost
Chef/Co-owner
Block Kitchen + Bar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

We were so fortunate to be there at the right time as we were able to walk in w/o rsvp and got the last table available right away. This place seems to be popular. The size of the restaurant is small cozy, but the flavour of their food is Über!! Love every thing we ordered. We ordered one of their special that night, Braised bison ribs which was so finger lickin good, the korean inspired sauce was absolutely the key to that amazing item! And their dips with the cute legit naan bread were to die for!! Definately will eat again at this restaurant when we r back to Banff!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank GF18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

We came for an early dinner and sat outside. Our favorite dishes were duck lettuce wrap and chicken skewers. The flavors were really good.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank benni82018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

We popped in while up skiing. This place is tiny but the servers were super pleasant and the food was great.

We had the duck poutine and flatbread both were good but the best was the mango cheesecake.

Definitely going back.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank lorim239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Block Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Block Kitchen and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing